Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Late last night, I snuck downstairs to put my guys’ cards and candy on the kitchen table. I found Star Wars cards online and printed them up. So cute – even one for Mr Darcy.  A few weeks ago, I bought a box of conversation hearts candy and I have had them hiding in my desk area. It’s scary around my desk area so no one enters….unless they want to steal my tape and then they are full of bravery!

Yesterday, I made some bread. I made two loaves of sandwich bread, 5 bread bowls, about 25 tortillas and I made a loaf of this:

for my babies

For lunch, I sliced this up and put it under the broiler with some shredded cheese and one pepperoni slice per piece. I served it with leftover poppy seed chicken and the boys were thrilled. I was thrilled. We were all thrilled.

Tonight, we’ll have chili in those bread bowls along with a heart shaped cake that I am making as I type this. I used this recipe. However, instead of using the the dark or bittersweet chocolate it calls for at the beginning, I am using some Abuelitas Mexican Chocolate. Yum. I think the cinnamon in that chocolate will be so nice after the chili, don’t you? I brought the Abuelitas all the way from Bville. If you click on the hyperlink, you’ll see what I am talking about. I think you should be able to find it at most mainstream grocers, if you are interested.

You know, Valentine’s Day is all about L.O.V.E.  If for some reason, you just aren’t feeling it, you don’t feel loved, or this day just is stinkola for you…I want you to know that you are loved. The One who created you- loves you more than you could imagine.  He can’t stop loving you.

It’s true, you know. He loves you. He loves you. He loves you. It’s better than any heart-shaped boxed of chocolates, or roses or sappy love song. But if you need to read His love letter for you today (and really, who doesn’t?), here’s one of my favorites:

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will rejoice over you with loud singing.

In Hebrew, the word rejoice is translated as giyl or gul and it means to spin about wildly. Dancing.

Yes, this is how He feels about you. YOU. He’s so in love with you that he dances around you. Can’t you just imagine it? The closest I can imagine is that it’s like when I dance around my husband when I am so excited to be going on a vacation….like when I danced in the car after bringing Mr Darcy home from the hospital when he had surgery for what the Dr was certain was lymphoma-but wasn’t…when my boys dance and jump and shout around me when I say I’m serving cake for breakfast…when I danced around, crying with joy as I realized I was going to be a Mommy…We dance a lot at our house, for lots of different reasons but His dance? It’s better, stronger, louder and certainly more rhythmic than all of those. He dances around us, loving us, smiling and rejoicing.

You are loved.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

~janna

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim james
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 16:57:19

    Love love love your post or blog ii mean. So true and needed reminding of how much He does love us!!!! Especially the dancing over us. Thank you for sharing. You are such a blessing to the body of Christ. Don’t stop writing.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 23, 2012 @ 16:29:10

      Kim-

      Thank you so much! I love writing and have found it to be a great outlet for me. Thank you so much for writing me!

      ~Janna

      Reply

  2. Syble Hanson
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 01:36:02

    Jana loved your scripture today!!
    I was feeling a little down. Brooks always got me a card and candy and I was missing him today. The scripture brought me back to reality that God loves me and his love is sufficient!
    Thanks Cuz, you are a good woman.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 23, 2012 @ 16:28:24

      Syble,

      I am so glad we have the everlasting love of the Lord, aren’t you? Hope your day ended up on a happy note and I am so glad you have many, many happy memories of Brooks to carry you through the hard days.

      Love you, cousin!
      ~Janna

      Reply

  3. Phyllis Wilson
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 11:34:42

    Loved your “adventures” today, Janna, and I especially loved the scripture you posted. I am forwarding it to my sweet niece in Arkansas, Anna, who is a fairly new Christian. Thank you for all your blogs.

    Your sister in Christ,
    Phyllis

    Reply

  4. Phyllis Wilson from Restoration Church
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 11:36:42

    I was going to add “from Restoration Church,” but it cut me off–just wanted you to know.

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:11:25

    I loved this. Really loved this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

