Family

I don’t quite understand it, but I’m a fan of the Duggar show, 18 Kids and Counting. Let’s face it. I’m a fan of the Duggar family.  It’s a show we can watch together and talk about. They are in many ways very similar to our family except there are less of us and we are somehow louder and less organized.

Here’s what I am learning:

1. You don’t have to yell to be heard.

2. Rollerblading in the house when you have tile might not be a bad thing altogether.

3. Happy relationships between parents do exist on television.

4. Family is where it’s at.

They took in Mr. Duggar’s Mom and Dad when his Dad became terminally ill. I cried. They recently helped another ginormous family add on to their home. I cried. I cry not because this is great, moving tv – but because there is something there that challenges me to think less of what is the “norm” of the world, and more about what should be normal. It should be normal that families eat together. It should be normal that we see families play together, laugh together and weep together.

Enjoy your family. Yell less. Eat more tater tots.

That’s it for today.

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 20:52:07

    I am always amazed by Mrs. Duggar’s quiet, quiet voice. I am also a little shocked when I contrast it with my own – you are right – there are some good things to get from that show!

    Reply

  2. Rhonda
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 05:31:44

    Hey yeah – what’s the favorite dish called ‘tater tot casserole’? ‘Tater Suprise’?

    We love the Duggars too. I know someone who grew up in the same town, a little bit older than the oldest kid. He said they are very nice folks.

    Wish we did as well as the Duggars. I’ve always got someone on restriction over here. Levi cannot play a video game until 2010!

    Reply

  3. Vanessa
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 06:02:21

    I have no idea what a “Duggar” is – you mean there are other channels on the television where the people aren’t animated!

    I am becoming a fan of the blogging Jana!

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 14:11:18

    I have gotten out of the duggar habit lately, I need to get back. Julianna convinced me to watch Jon and kate yesterday. I only said yes cause it was an old one. That is the end of that. Just say ‘no’ to dominating wives! I will have to start recording the duggars again. Have a super fantastic day! Love you. Keep up the bloggin!

    Reply

  5. Jenn Smith
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 14:25:32

    I LOVE the Duggars! The only thing I can’t stand is when sweet newby, Anna calls her mother in law, “Mrs. Duggar”. Surely that can be tossed aside, right? All in all, I cry too when I see how much yelling I do at one child and she maintains the sweet voice with 18. Whew. Oh, and I also love her new hair “style”. Much better than the layerd bangs with wings 😉

    Reply

  6. Janna
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 21:32:58

    Vanessa,

    You made me laugh so hard…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

