Nacho Libre-inspired menu plan

Not really!

We are all sitting in the family room watching Nacho Libre and I am thinking about our upcoming menu for the week.  Football practice has started, which is a new thing for us. I am trying to come up with meals that aren’t too heavy since we’ll be eating them after practice 4 times a week. In the movie, Nacho Libre, Nacho is in charge of the cooking for the orphans. He is distressed with his lack of fresh produce with which to make the meals.  I am feeling that! I have been a little blue because we don’t have any sort of a garden and the produce doesn’t seem to be staying fresh for as long. I wonder if that is a humidity issue?

Tomorrow morning (early) my sweet sister and her sweet family are driving away. My morning will be a little melancholy, yet I know I can reflect on how great our time was together, how I love her family and how sweet it is that we like to spend time together. I am already listening to How He Loves by Kim Walker to get myself in the right frame of mind. God is good.

On Friday, Tommy’s sister, her husband and their children will make the drive down to us. We can’t wait! We love our families. Just being able to laugh and share a meal with them in our house is such a precious gift.  They will get to hear Tommy preach on Sunday. My sister and her family were able to hear him this morning. He was great – if I do say so myself!

In any case, here’s what I’ve got – Nacho Style with a football practice twist. 🙂

Monday:

Chicken quesadillas on homemade tortillas, rice, salad, fruit parfaits.

Tuesday:

Grilled Fish, stir fry veggies, rolls

Wednesday:

Meatloaf, baked potatoes, green beans, pudding

Thursday:

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia, Carrot Coins, Peas

Friday: (Family coming in town for the weekend – YAHOO!)

Chicken Enchiladas, Salad, Rice, Chips, Salsa, Cupcakes

Saturday:

Hot Dogs, Chips, Veggies & Dip, Brownies

Sunday:

Spaghetti, Garlic Bread, Green Salad, Chocolate Chip Cookies

What’s coming to a table near you this week?

~Janna

Leave a Reply

