Warm Cookies – sit and enjoy while I wax poetically about them.

Really, there’s not many things that taste better than warm cookies, fresh out of the oven, is there?

I’ve got pan #3 in the oven right now. We just had one (well, Mr T had two, but he’s special). I love ’em. I am getting a head start on my “company’s a comin’ baking.”  I made a double batch of whole wheat, bittersweet chocolate chip cookies. They are yum. You really can’t tell they are made with whole wheat- but I know.

A special request was phoned in to tell you all about my grocery shopping experiences here.  They are quite different, to say the least. So for my precious and gorgeous friend,  Jenn, here goes!

I began my shopping adventures today at Sam’s Club. It is a very nice and new Sam’s. As I hustled the boys through and gathered my tub of salad, wheelbarrow full of carrots and two gallons of milk,  I was ever-conscious of the mission I had ahead of me…HEB.

We drove home and threw our paltry items into the fridge and went on our merry way to the HEB store. Here is where the fun really began. If you have ever driven on the racetrack in an Indy-car fashion, you’d do well in securing a parking spot for yourself here. For the rest of us, we just pray and hold our breath until we are safely in a spot.  I get in the store and may I just add that I live next to the nicest HEB in Brownsville. It really is lovely. Sushi Bar, Chef Station making tasty treats to enjoy, sommelier, exotic meats (Kobe beef, anyone?) and a cute lady scraping the pricklies off cactus in her little booth.

I gather our produce, maneuvering past the entire aisle of peppers, and head over to meats. Wowza. Beef tongue, beef cheek, beef tripas, (dare I ask?) and more.  Cuts of chicken and ribs and pork products for days. It really is a sight to behold. People are crowding each other, there seems to be no rules here in the meat department. You don’t stand quietly and wait for the nice lady to examine the steaks before it’s your turn. No sir!  You hold on to your cart , wedge yourself in and stand your ground. I get our ground beef, tease the boys with the giant, hairy tongues and roll over to the cheeses where I get my cojack.

I am in need of enchilada sauce today, so I try to find the “ethnic” aisle. You know the one – it has the Asian foods, the Italian foods and the Mexican foods. Because of where I now live, part of this aisle exists all over the store. It’s pretty cool. I pass the world’s largest pork rinds. I kid you not, they are a foot long each. I do not put any into my cart.  It makes me a little queasy just thinking about it now.

People are talking, kissing each other and children are screaming all over the store. It is loud. Really, really loud. I have yet to enter the HEB at any time of day or night where there is not a crowd. They’ve got a great gig going here. The checkout people are all bilingual and never fail to offer me deodorant, toothpaste or today’s choice-shampoo.  All of which are available at the checkout. I resist the shampoo and pick up my groceries ($75.00-thankyouverymuch) in my reusable bags (not a popular trend from what I can see down here) and play a real-life game of Frogger as the boys and I load up in the minivan.

So, back to the cookies. So comforting and nice after my adventures today. My recipe is the one from Joy of Cooking (except I use whole wheat flour) so I can’t post it. Tomorrow, I tell my man, I will not leave the house once. Okay, maybe just once to go to C’s house for art. 🙂 It’s a day for school and housecleaning. I can’t wait. Seriously.

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Smith
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 11:32:01

    What a wonderful description! I’m sure your readers will enjoy this as much as I do. And, I do believe, that you could make some extra Christmas money if you were to sell phonecalls with you while you are in “The HEB”. It is definitly an adventure not to be missed….screaming babies and all! Love you dear one.

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 21:00:42

    Yes, a wonderful description! You forgot to mention, though, how the check-out lines have 50 people each in them but after a couple of months you learn not to let that bother you because you know that its probably only three payers who brought along everyone in their extended family for the ride. 🙂

    We’re getting the hang of this, friend! Con Permiso! We’re coming through!!

    Reply

  3. Janna
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 21:42:26

    You are right, Christina. I didn’t mention the giant lines. Or the staring – but that’s another post!

    Reply

  4. Kristy Noeninckx
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 18:57:31

    such a great description of the HEB

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 22:09:37

    LOL, you girls crack me up! I have seen this all my life down here and it too cracks me up! Janna I have so much fun reading your thoughts! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

