Budget

So I’ve been thinking a lot about our budget the past few days. I am trying not to get too depressed.  I keep praying for some fabulous idea that will make me a little bit of happy money. I think I just may have one. I have been doing a little bit of secret research down here and think I may have found a missing link in this area which happens to be something I enjoy very much.  I will let you know if I decide to move forward with it.

Today, the boys and I finished school in an acceptable time frame and then headed over to a friend’s house. It was a double triple blessing for me because another friend was there as well AND, lunch was provided for me. A yummy lunch at that!  The guys did an art lesson and played. It was so good to be in the company of friends, but I realized how deprived I’ve been feeling when I replayed it in my mind afterward and remembered how much I talked. Sorry, ladies.

Our sister and brother in law and three of their children will arrive tomorrow. I wish they were already here. I simply can’t wait to see them. Tomorrow, we will get beds and rooms ready, potties cleaned and a batch of muffins for Sunday morning baked up. I have a pan of “I can’t believe these are whole wheat” brownies on the counter.  You make them the day before you want to serve them. Alas, the recipe is from King Arthur Flour, so I can’t publish it. But you can look it up on their website if you are interested. (And you should be very, very interested…they are that good.)

I switched up the menu plan and made cheese tortillini, salad and cheddar garlic biscuits. It was a good idea all around. The biscuits were delicious. I should have taken a picture to show you how perfect they were, but we ate them too fast.  I can, however, give you the recipe for them – as I made it up. 🙂

Cheddar Garlic Biscuits

2 c. flour (yes, I used white, we just don’t like whole wheat biscuits)

1 Tbl baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 c shortening

3/4 c milk

1 handful (maybe  a cup?) shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 stick butter, melted

1 heaping tsp minced garlic

Preheat oven to 450. Mix dry ingredients together with whisk. Add milk and shortening and mix with your hands until you don’t have any more powder in your bowl. Add cheese. Pat dough with your hands on your clean counter and cut into biscuits (mine are square-it’s easier and you don’t have leftover dough that you are re-working). Place on Silpat on cookie sheet (I guess you could use parchment paper, but get yourself a Silpat if you can – they rock!) Bake for about 10 minutes, or until golden. While they are baking, heat butter until it’s a liquid, then turn off heat and add garlic.  Brush on the biscuits when they have finished baking. Yummy yummy time.

So how about you? What’s your opinion on whole wheat biscuits?

~Janna

Leave a Reply

