Holidays

We have an empty house again today.  Tommy’s sweet sister, her husband and their children were here for the weekend. We had so much fun. There is just nothing like looking across the living room at those you love. The sounds of our boys giggling at night with cousins, getting to style my niece’s hair, laughing at funny stories with sister and brother and hearing stories we never knew. What a gift.  They left this morning and I’ll be honest with you…there was some crying here. From several sets of tearducts, I might add.

To pick ourselves up, we dressed ourselves in NFL and NBA shirts and headed over to Chick-Fil-A for free chicken sandwiches. Okay, we bought a couple of soft drinks to share as well. I wish I understood why the free sandwich tasted better than the ones we have purchased in the past.

The rest of our afternoon has been pretty lazy, to tell you the truth. I have barely set foot in the kitchen, choosing instead to watch movies. I think my brain hurts from the lack of activity.  To ease my conscience, here I sit, with my calendar in front of me, planning the rest of the week. School, menus, etc.  I’ll let you take a lookie-loo at the menu:

Monday:

Blah Blah Blah, Chick-Fil-A, leftovers, Blah Blah Blah

Tuesday:

Chicken Tikka Masala, rice, dahl

Wednesday:

Spaghetti, Salad, Sherbet

Thursday:

Grilled Fish, Salad, Rolls

Friday:

Burgers, Salads, Carrot Coins

Saturday:

Dinner with out of town friends who are coming to the Island. Woo Hoo!

Sunday:

Tacos, Veggie sticks, dip

That’s about it. We have eye doctor appointments, church nursery work, life group, football practice and school before we enjoy next weekend.  I have purposed to myself that I will do my exercise dvd at least three times this week. It’s so hard for me to do as I am not the biggest fan of exercise. One would think I would be motivated each and every time I put on my swimsuit…but, alas!

How about you? Doing anything fun or out of the ordinary this upcoming week?

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Smith
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 02:24:53

    Your week sounds fab-o…as for mine, I have packing, laundry, calling the cable company, packing, packing, school and packing to do. Reading your menu reminded me though that as soon as my pots are unpacked in the new house, I want us to plan a simultaneous “Bouef Bourguignon” evening and compare notes…I’m DYING to dry the meat to see if that really works. Love you!

    Reply

  2. Vanessa
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 03:16:44

    I have enjoyed my trip to Jannaland today. You have made me want to get my week organized. My calendar is blank. My menu is blank. Going to make a “to do” list. I love marking through a line when something gets completed.

    We are starting school on Wednesday. Starting later than most, but we needed some time.

    What is Chicken Tikka Masala?

    I need to schedule some time for chocolate.

    Needing coffee.

    Love to you.

    Reply

  3. Janna
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 13:54:36

    Jenn- The Bouef Bourguinon is ON!! Do you have a nice covered casserole dish? If not, WalMart and Marshalls have nice coated cast iron that are very similar (except in price!) to the Le Creuset. I can’t wait!
    ~Janna

    Reply

  4. Janna
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 14:01:39

    Vanessa –
    I also love the lines crossed out…it makes me very happy. WooHoo for school on Wednesday. Don’t you remember when NO ONE started until after Labor Day?

    Chicken Tikka Masala is Indian food. Marinated Chicken in a beautiful tomato-y yogurty, Indian-spiced sauce. It is so yummy. We just buy a packet of the seasonings, plain yogurt to dollop on top and rice. We like it and it makes chicken go a long way!

    Mmmm, I need a chocolate break already and it’s still early! 🙂
    Love,
    Janna

    Reply

  5. Amanda
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 17:53:49

    ok, I have heard from you about the tiki chicken-haha–but what in the world is dahl? You ever amaze me with all your different recipies. I’m afraid my family only gets the same 3 or 4. We need a…hmm…MEAL MAKEOVER!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

