Gratituesday – Hot stuff

I’m going to be honest with you – I am having a hard time with the heat. I don’t like being hot and sweaty every day. Every night I pray that the Father will help me the next day to be content and not complain…and every afternoon I find myself grumbling. This is not a good cycle. I just don’t know what to do. I can’t run the air conditioning at 65 everyday and I can’t walk around in my skivvies…..pray, pray, PRAY is all I can do.

So, in light of the previous paragraph, I want to tell you how grateful I am for my air conditioning. As I was making dinner tonight, with the spicy smells of India wafting through my kitchen, I was reminded of the first time I had this meal.  We were at our dear friends’ home. They were previously missionaries to India. They made this amazing dinner for us and we loved it. Their dahl was delicious – mine was not a hit.  I think of them each and every time I make Chicken Tikka Masala. it.  One night we watched the movie, “Slumdog Millionaire” together.   As we watched, they told us that except for a few scenes, the movie really depicts how it is there. People are living in cardboard shacks, fighting and killing others over religion, begging, drinking unsafe water and more. I have seen this personally in other countries and can honestly say I am glad to have seen it. It shaped me like no movie or magazine article ever could. Hopefully, I won’t be able to forget, either. I don’t ever want to get too comfortable.

Yes, I love my air conditioning…I am so thankful to live where it is an option. But perhaps tomorrow when I start to sweat while reading to my children on our soft leather sofa, I’ll pray for the Mommy across the globe who is sweating while trying to figure out what to feed her children.

Hope this post isn’t too much of a downer. It actually helped me to write it down.

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Smith
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 02:56:24

    On this Gratituesday, I’m thankful for a friend who picks up the phone when she knows that I’m not myself and calls anyway…letting me talk away about my troubles. I’m thankful that she “spurs me on to love and good deeds” everytime we talk. Because of my deep gratitude for her, I will pray that even a slight chill of Fall would come to her new land and tickle her pink!

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 13:31:09

    while painting over the last several days, I have changed my clothes at least 3 times in one day because they were so drippy wet, I could not sit on the couch! Grrr, for sweat but GRRRR for more laundry!

    BTW-my drapes look beautimus! Can’t wait for you to come up for Christmas and see them!

    Reply

  3. Alyssa
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:02:10

    OK! I did it. I read a “blog”. You go girl! Alyssa

    Reply

  4. Nancy Briggs
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:36:37

    Janna, love the blogging!!!! I am trying something different today. I am cooking some chicken breasts. When they are done, I will shred them. I bought some tin foil pot pie pans. I will spray the pans. I will put some shredded chicken in each one. I will thicken the broth with some cornstarch. I plan to pour some over each pot pie. Then, I will cover the top with pie crust dough and freeze. I always waste so much when I make one large one for Tommy and myself. Most of the time, I share it with my neighbor. But, these are individual so I hope they will work for those days when I don’t know what to fix……………….Love, Nana

    Reply

  5. Nancy Briggs
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 17:38:07

    Oops, When I take them out of the freezer, I will dot with butter and bake until done and browned on top.

    Reply

  6. Janna
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 02:53:50

    Nancy –
    I was JUST thinking about Pot Pies. I was wondering if the boys would eat them! I like your idea. When Tommy and I still newlyweds, I would make individual pot pies in these Williams Sonoma pot pie dishes. We loved them. Of course, the dough had cream cheese in it – so what’s not to like, right?
    Love you –

    Reply

Leave a Reply

