The joys of spaghetti

Last night, I made spaghetti. Tommy teases me about my spaghetti making because he says in nearly 17 years of marriage I have never made it the same way twice. I kinda like that about myself. I am the kind of girl who would rather have my spaghetti sauce be filled with giant chunks of tomatoes, green peppers, herbs, olives and NO MEAT. Really, that’s my favorite. I would eat it without the noodles, quite frankly. Now, Mr. Wonderful prefers Ragu. That’s right-the plain, non-chunky, boring jar to which you add browned ground beef. Ugh. What’s a girl to do?

Anyhow, the boys prefer the non-chunk sauce as well (surprise). Last night, I opened the can (remember, I am on a budget) and added the beef, and plenty of fresh herbs. Mmmmm – oregano, thyme and basil. I threw in some jarred garlic, salt and fresh ground pepper also.  For kicks, I made regular spaghetti. I hate that it’s cheaper than whole wheat. I really do. Well, wouldn’t you know it – the boys said this was the best spaghetti they had tasted in a very long time. Whatever. I added 1/2 cup fresh tomato chunks to mine. I was happy.

I don’t know if you know this, but spaghetti is pretty cheap to make. It would be cheaper if I grew my own tomatoes. But I don’t.  The farmer’s market is opening up again in October and I am anticipating great things.  On that same note, our HEB ad has granny smith apples on sale – 3 pounds for $1.99. Do I ever have plans! I am going to dehydrate 3 pounds, slice and freeze 3 pounds, and make some apple butter if I can get the rest of the supplies for that (read: canning equipment). If not, it’s more for the freezer! I can’t wait. I am totally going to pretend it’s fall. I’ll wear my apron and play bluegrass music and sing! Last night, I got out my Ball canning cookbook and I have plans to print up an e-book I won on canning and preserving from Heavenly Homemakers. Wahoo!

So, do any of you have canning equipment? Do you use it? What is your favorite thing to make with it? More importantly, if you live in my area, do you want to let me borrow your stuff? 🙂

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 14:00:15

    I just learned to can last month. I canned grean beans – the only vegetable that doesn’t make my children cry.

    I also made tomato sauce for the freezer. I grew thousands of tomatoes this year – my mom and I share a garden. Benjamin has discovered he loves tomatoes and eats them at every meal!

    There is a site that I love getting information from called pickyourown.org. I think you’ll like it.

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 18:08:11

    Well, I am officially jealous. I have deep desires to can – and no equipment (including giant garden harvests!) I have been to pickyourown….not much down here besides grapefruits (yuck to me). I only have one boy who will eat tomatoes outside of salsa or ketchup….ugh. Send pics of your canning goodness!

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 20:15:23

    Hey, here’s a budget tip for you! I used to buy Prego sauce and it was the only one the boys and Greg would eat, but they didn’t really like spaghetti much. One day, I bought the Hunt’s traditional spaghetti sauce in the can. 99 cents a can, baby! It’s usually on the bottom shelf. I doctor it up, like you did, except I put super finely chopped onions too and some parmesan cheese. Well, they loved it. It’s their favorite sauce now. I keep a couple of cans on hand. I also have a great meatball recipe if you want it that freezes well, then I do the meatballs on the side b/c some like them and some don’t but everyone is happy they are on the side. Makes great meatball sandwiches too with leftover hot dog buns. : ) Or since they are plain meatballs, you could do Swedish Meatballs, etc. Haven’t tried that, but it’s a plan. Oh, and since you save on the sauce you can buy the whole wheat pasta which my boys now like better. Yippee!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

