Out of the mouths….

gratituesdayfall2

Well, it’s been another busy day at our house in the Serious South. So much to be thankful for.  The boys got to go with me to the grocery stores (not their favorite activity), but they did well.  I was thankful to be able to purchase our groceries. Reading about the Depression got me thinking about ration cards. Can you imagine?

Our conversations were a but somber as we prayed for one we love who is in the hospital. We trust in the Only One  for healing and are praying diligently for that to come in a miraculous fashion. We love you.

While at the market, I told the boys we were having Chicken Pot Pie for dinner and what vegetables would they like to see in there? You see, they have been seriously suspicious of the whole idea of Pot Pie ever since watching an episode of Rachael Ray where she stated that “Chicken Pot Pie is a great way to hide vegetables from your kiddos.” The boys were horrified. Why would anyone do that and lie to their children with food, they wondered. Pot Pie has been on their deadly sins list ever since. Because of this, I asked them exactly which vegetables would be acceptable in tonight’s offering.  I took a picture so you could see the bounty:

Behold the bounty of veg...

Behold the bounty of veg...

Yeah, that’s right……… Corn. Only corn. Corn, chicken and pie crust.  H said, “Hey, this is much better than I expected it to be. I was waiting for awful.” I took that as a compliment. AND I AM THANKFUL. C kept referring to it as “Chicken Mock Pie” and ever-so-slowly finished his without any pot pie superlatives.  Oh well.

The menu called for homemade ice cream tonight. This dessert only works when you remember to freeze the cream maker parts ahead of time.   Thankfully (see, another thing to be grateful for!) I had a box of pudding mix in the pantry. Chocolate Caramel Chip. I realize this is not trule Depression-Era cuisine, but the thought was “use what I have” which is from that era, so there you go.

Chocolate Caramel-Chip Pudding

Chocolate Caramel-Chip Pudding

That’s it for tonight’s installment. I am heading upstairs to iron clothes for the Rev to wear tomorrow.

~Janna

Leave a Reply

