Uh Oh!

Here’s the thing. You probably shouldn’t make your fancy-schmancy menu plans without looking at your calendar first. Here’s why: You will put a cake and stew on the same day as you are going to be out of the house all day long. It doesn’t work. Thankfully, we had a super-fast lunch of leftovers (in 25 minutes, and then back in the car) so I simply fixed the poor man’s meal for dinner.

Sizzle Sizzle

Sizzle Sizzle

Serving it up

Serving it up

Potatoes cooking in a bit of oil. Do you know about my great love for my cast iron skillet. I am enamored…..One whole package of hot dogs went in when the potatoes were just about done.

Here it is plated up (er, trayed up) with the carrot sticks and milk. The boys had a late snack so a light dinner was right for tonight.

Reviews? They loved it. I can’t believe it. Even as I am typing this, I am in disbelief. I thought it was a bit gross, but then, I am not a fan of hot dogs, so there you go. We actually ran out of food. Strange, but true. Pineapple sherbet for dessert. We are trying to finish up our Walmart brand before we go back to the favorite one from HEB. It is almost as good as the Dole Whip from DisneyWorld.  Almost.

Tomorrow, we will be home all morning so the baking can begin. I am excited. I had mock apple pie on the menu, but bought 9 pounds of apples and thought, “why spend $ on crackers for mock apple pie when I am buying real apples?”

Today, I meditated on “Create in me a clean heart, oh God – and renew a right spirit within me.” (Psalm) I then looked at 1 Corinthians at what love should be so I would know what that right spirit would look like. The boys and I are working on this together. I think that can only be a good thing.

Did you know you can make lots of things at home that you would surprise you? For instance, I make my own laundry detergent, stain treatment, toothpaste, facial scrub, swiffer refill and more. I am about to make my own fabric softener. I am expecting great results. It involves hair conditioner. I’ll let you know. I have a recipe for Pam nonstick spray but haven’t tried it yet.

What things do you make for yourself at home?

~Janna

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 21:52:50

    weenies and potatoes – that’s all that is in it? I had to use spell check to find out how to spell weenies. haha!

    And you amaze me with all your own home-made recipes. I can’t think of a thing I make on my own. I’m surprised you call me your friend….I mean my sale paper is still out there getting rained on. I’m ashamed of myself, I really am!

    Reply

  2. vanessa
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 00:52:19

    For your apple pie, try shredding the apples instead of cutting them up. There is a little shop on the corner of the town square here that serves their apple pie with shredded apples. They gave my mom the recipe! You can also put the shredded apples in the freezer!

    Do you ever do fried apple pies? Now I’m hungry.

    Reply

  3. Janna
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 09:13:26

    Christina, I did not make up this recipe. It came from the Depression-Era Clara lady. As far as homemade cooking-I love it. Plain and simple. It doesn’t make me special. It’s just my hobby…food. Judging by my waistline, it’d be good to get another hobby or two!! I LOVE being your friend, even if you haven’t read the Bargain Book……Love you!

    Reply

  4. Janna
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 09:15:16

    Vanessa,
    I would have never thought to do that. Does she peel them first? Or just throw them into the shredder of the food processor? I watched the grocery store bakery making empanadas the other day with apple filling. It’s pretty much a fried pie. We love those. I mean…it’s fried – what could be wrong with that?

    Now, I’m hungry.
    XXOO

    Reply

  5. Christina
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 11:51:10

    oh, I hope you didn’t think I was criticizing your casserole! It just looked like to me that there was something else in it besides potatoes in your picture – like hash-browns maybe. And your waist line is jut fine Mrs!! You’re beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Mary Allen
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 13:28:08

    I will make that this weekend. It looks good!

    Reply

  7. vanessa
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 23:08:05

    Janna, peeled, then shredded in the processor. Fabulous! I’ll send the recipe tomorrow.

    Reply

  8. Janna
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 14:07:04

    V-
    can’t wait to get it! I have an apple tart in the oven right now. I am going crazy with the smells!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

