Ch-Ch-Ch Changes

You know when you have all of these great plans and then suddenly life comes along and changes them and you have to roll with it or get rolled under it? Yeah? Well, that was today. I had great plans to make a delicious meal as previously planned on my menu and then Superman and I had a chat last night. The conversation went a little bit like this:

Him: Guess what? I am going FISHING in the ocean tomorrow!

Me: That’s great! What a blessing to get to go.

Him: It is. Here’s the deal…I’m going to go straight from work and meet the guys and go and I don’t have any idea when I’ll be back that night. So, you’ll need to take ALL of the boys to football practice.

Now, gentle reader, football practice begins at 5:30 pm and ends at 7:15 7:20 7:30 7:50. Yeah, it gets later and later each night. Nice. So, being the resourceful gal that I am, I had to come up with something for dinner that I could prepare ahead of time and would be speedy-o to cook once we got home from practice. I thought and I thought and I though and finally came up with…

Pizza. I made a double batch of dough up, froze 1/3 of it for later and started making the pizza.  I made 4 small ones for afternoon snack to tide us over since we wouldn’t be eating until bedtime. 🙂  Then, I prebaked 2 crusts and made 4 calzones. After baking the crusts for 6 minutes, I slathered them in cheap canned spaghetti sauce, added seasonings and cheese and put them in the fridge for tonight. The calzones were just sauce and cheese and spices.  As soon as we came in from practice, I turned on the oven and popped those babies in. I’d be lying if I said they were okay.  They were fabulous. I didn’t even serve a vegetable….don’t tell!

pizza night

pizza night

They aren’t the prettiest things in town, but they hit the spot.  I also made pastry dough for an apple tart or pie but we got in too late to do that. Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow.

Mr. Wonderful texted and said, “no fish but had a great time!”  I am so happy for him. Spending time with great guys and  learning something new. Cool. I am working hard at not being jealous of the fishing.

Tomorrow, we have some makeup school to do so we can get back on track from the last couple of days and then – the weekend!!  Yahoo! The pastry dough will be put to good use – I can assure you!  We have no big plans outside of football practice and a newcomer’s lunch at church.  I am also believing for a breakthrough for us regarding our house we need to sell. I just want it to be over. Isn’t there a saying about an albatross hanging on your neck. That’s how this feels. Our journey may not look like anyone else’s journey, but I am thankful for it. I’m grateful for the grace I am given as I trek along.

What about you, what are your weekend plans?

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Smith
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 08:19:40

    You forgot to mention how Darcy came to your rescue on the way home 😉 I LOVE your creativity! And always remember, the only thing we’ve ever learned from them…”It’s a crazy life, but it’s ours!” As for my weekend, I’m praying we don’t have customers so I can really finish all of this packing and cleaning and then Sunday night we are off to Abilene for a few days to paint and put in the long anticipated vinyl wood floor! Be expecting LOADS of photos coming your way this week. Love you!

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 10:53:29

    I can’t wait to see the pictures and hear how it goes!

    Reply

  3. Kristy Noeninckx
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 17:19:49

    when you get a minute can I get your pizza dough recipe? Pretty Please

    Reply

Leave a Reply

