Pretending it’s fall

It’s 400 degrees outside down here, but fall fever has hit me BIG TIME!  I made the Barefoot Contessa’s Apple Tart today. I made up the pastry dough yesterday, but with football going so long, I couldn’t make the tart until today. We ate it after lunch and we all 5 loved it.  You can find the recipe here:

barefoot contessa apple tart

apple tart

apple tart

I added cinnamon because I felt like it. This was really, really easy to put together and tasty to boot!

I also made homemade fabric softener. Our stuff hasn’t been smelling fab-o since we moved here. Particularly the kitchen washcloths. It’s weird. They sour by noon. I am hoping this fabric softener will do the trick. You can add essential oil, but all I have is tea tree oil and I didn’t want to mix that with the coconut smell of the conditioner.

Homemade Fabric Softener
Give it a try~I think you will be pleased!
1 cup vinegar
2 cups hair conditioner  ( I used Suave Tropical Coconut -97 cents)
6 cups of water
Mix all this together. You may use this like any other Fabric Softener. I put an old 1/3 c measure on top of the container. It’s sitting on the dryer (or is it drier?).
the ingredients

the ingredients

Yes, this towel is nasty. I wanted to break up the white expanse of the counter which doesn’t seem to combine with the flash on the camera. This towel is clean, but permanently stained. Oh well.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I’ve got fall fever in a bad way. Since I have no control over the weather, I am reading my fall baking cookbooks and drooling. I am also wanting fall smells throughout the house. I was at a friend’s house and she had a new airwick plug in with an apple smell. It was yum. I have got to get myself one (or three) of those. Maybe I’ll put one in every room of the house. Do you think we’ll get sick with that much artificial scent wafting through the house?  I’ll let you know.

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 19:42:43

    I read a great idea you might want to try. Have a wash cloth you can put the fabric softener on, (use the same one each time- and just a little does the trick) and throw it in the dryer and you have yourself a dryer sheet. Just a way to get a double dose of the good smell.

    I’m going to try your fabric softener. My kids will love helping with this!

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 20:30:28

    I like your idea with the washcloth. I’m going to have to try that.
    xoxo hug those babies for me. (Roll Tide….)

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 15:25:22

    I have vinegar, water and that EXACT conditioner – I’m totally doing that!! And I just CAN’T pretend its fall! Have you been out there today? It was 90 degrees by 10:30 – and the humidity is “just try to take a deep breath” degrees!!! whaaaaa!!!! sorry I’m whiny – that’s what happens when you get two hours of sleep at night! 🙂

    Reply

  4. John
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 17:39:54

    South Texas is considered a step child when it comes to water treatment and purification. There is so much chlorine in the water here. You have to buy water treatment center for your house and that is expensive in itself. Thanks for the fabric softner ingredients and I’ll pass this on to Mary if she hasn’t read it already.

    Reply

  5. Janna
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 18:09:09

    Christina, I am NOT going outside today. I have a fall-ish candle on the burner and I have been inside reading all day. Do you think that will work? I think you deserve some cool weather for getting zilcho sleep!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Janna
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 18:10:43

    John – I have already discovered the wow factor of the water here. I have a chlorine filter for our showerhead on my wish list! Our skin can tell a difference. I just keep trying to make up for it with dips in the ocean!! Do you guys have the filtration system? Do you buy your drinking water, too?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

