Thanksgiving

Yeah…you read that right. I’ve got it on the brain. Two days with cooler weather and it’s all I can think about.  I am already making lists galore! I love lists, they make me most happy.  We are going to be spending Thanksgiving 2009 in our new home with some new gorgeous dishes to eat our yummy food on. (Can anyone say “hello” to the Johnson Brothers Friendly Village?)

I have been taking requests from the guys on what they would like to see grace the table. You might be saying, “why so early?”  Here’s the reason: Budgeting. Since I will be doing the whole spread by myself, I have to plan ahead by purchasing items that are frozen or non-perishable in the upcoming grocery trips. For instance, Mac and Cheese was unanimously voted in. I can buy the pasta and evaporated milk and even the cheese (and freeze those) in the next grocery trips. This is good, as I am also planning on taking that very same item to our upcoming church potluck on “bring-a-friend day.”  I can’t buy the turkey early, but I can make some pies (like the requested apple) and freeze those. Get my drift? I like the planning. I like to look ahead.

I am thinking about the menu for the upcoming week and not feeling a lot of excitement. Ho hum. Mr Wonderful and I have had Pizza Hut Cheese Lovers Pizza on the brain for two weeks now but we keep resisting. (It helps that it’s not in the budget and it takes two large to feed this hungry pack of wolves!) I have pizza dough in the freezer, though.  Here is the menu:

Monday:

  1. Rotiserie Chicken on our grill (we have a rotisserie attachment, yahoo!)
  2. Mixed vegetables, tossed with garlic and butter

Tuesday:

  1. Spaghetti (meatless, but don’t tell Mr Wonderful)
  2. Breadsticks using the pizza dough in the freezer

Wednesday:

  1. Chicken and Rice (using leftover chicken from Monday)
  2. Broccoli (not a fam favorite)

Thursday: (grocery shopping day, yahoo!)

  1. Copycat Pizza Hut Pizza
  2. Salad
  3. Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Bars (just to make sure we want these for Thanksgiving)

Friday: (H’s Birthday party, he’s turning 10)

  1. Hot Dogs
  2. Chips
  3. H.E.B. Ice Cream Cake (at $14.99, I think it’s a steal, let’s hope it’s tasty!)

Saturday: (I will have extra boys for breakfast)

  1. Creamed Tacos (Special recipe from my amazing Mother-In-Love) It has Velveeta, whipping cream and Rotel…it’s horrible sounding but oh-so-good.
  2. Fritos
  3. Carrot Sticks to pretend this is a remotely healthy meal
  4. I am making coffee cakes and muffins for breakfast. I know, easy and unhealthy. 🙂 What can I say?

Sunday: (H’s actual birthday)

  1. Chinese Buffet (funny thing, we can only find Chinese restaurants that serve Mexican food, too!  So, who knows what all we’ll get?)

During the time it took me to finish this post, I decided to move my desk area around. It was next to the door of the half-bath downstairs. It was yucky. I asked the boys not to use that potty. BEGGED. Threatened. Pleaded. They still kept using it. Today, H asked why I don’t just move it. I told him to give me an alternative location – which he did!  My area is now in the eating area of our kitchen, which is pretty big. I turned my rolling island (also quite large) sideways, moved the barstools and am no enjoying the new view of the wall. It smells better over here. That’s all I’m gonna say. I think I am going to move a tv tray next to my Ikea desk for storage. It won’t be pretty, but until I find something I love in, say, distressed black, it’ll do!  I’ll try to post a picture tomorrow.

Some have asked how the Depression-Era week of cooking went. All I am going to say is that I know now why “depression” is the word they used.  It was not great, as I result, I failed my own challenge. I hated it. I’ve gotta come up with a better challenge. Maybe a week of chocolate in every recipe? 🙂

That’s all I’ve got for you. I am making some changes around the house (really going back to old routines) Flylady, here we come. The boys are thrilled. Not really. I am going to sew a fall table runner, too. Maybe even tonight! Also, Our white laundry is turning a horrible grey color-even with bleach. I don’t know what I am going to do about that.  Any suggestions?

~Janna



2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 22:00:38

    I must confess I covet your Johnson Brothers Friendly Village. I’ve wanted those forever. Enjoy using them! Great idea on the Thanksgiving planning. : )

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 09:18:23

    I coveted those dishes for years and was blessed beyond belief to receive some. I now have a new service for 4 and many antique pieces as well to round it out. I’ll have to post a picture.
    ~J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

