Routine

Have you ever felt a little helter-skelter? That would be the best way to describe how I have been feeling about our new house. It still doesn’t feel like home.  Part of that is because we rent it, and part of that is because things are just not in place most of the time, it seems. We keep it tidy. Just not clean.  At our old house, we fairly regularly used the Flylady system. It really works. I made up a notebook with all of our jobs and zones – each page in a page protector – and had a dry-erase market next to it.  Since we moved here, I have not been able to find “the notebook.”  Last weekend, I made it my mission to locate it.  After an hour and a half of serious searching, it appeared, almost magically, in the cookbook section of my family room bookcases.  I promise you, I have looked there 400 times before and never saw it.  Boy was I glad!  We began the system again today and I cannot tell you how good it makes me feel using it.

Spinning Poultry

Spinning Poultry

I made rotisserie chicken tonight. Here it is on the grill. We are so very thankful for this lovely grill that we received from my folks when we moved here.  This is the first time we have used this function, and I know it will not be the last. We try and grill as oven as we can. I love the cleanup!! 🙂  Anyhow, the chicken was delicious. I got it at a great price which made it even tastier. As I type this, I have the leftover meat in the fridge for Wednesday and I am boiling the carcass (man, I hate that word) for chicken stock that I freeze. I feel so special!

I spent my spare time today printing coupons from various online sources to use for my shopping trip this week. I found a great one for Toaster Strudels (which I never buy) that H decided would be “the best” for his birthday party. Easy for me. They will be $.88 when I buy them. Yahoo! That’s the right price to feed 10 year old boys in the morning!

I am wondering how many of you ever purchase e-books? I have won one (it is great – all about preserving and canning) but never purchased one. What’s your take on that?

I think tonight calls for a bubble bath as Mr Wonderful watches the Cowboys game on television.  I will be able to tell how they are doing by the sounds emitted from downstairs!

Drop me note and say hello if you can…

~Janna
Search & Win

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 22:01:53

    FlyLady scares me. Should she? But this new house is a booger to keep clean. Perhaps I should confront my fear of FlyLady . . .

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 09:16:44

    Flylady was too hard until I read the book and made my notebook. I was overwhelmed by the 4000 emails a day. It was nagging. Now, I have my handy dandy…NOTEBOOK (a glimpse into our Blue’s Clues past!) and it really works. It helps the boys quite a bit as well.

    ~J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

