Party on

We’ve got a room full of boys in our family room. 6 of them, to be exact. It is the birthday party of our middle guy. They have already been bowling, watched a movie and had the ice cream cake H picked out from HEB. (It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t Carvel…)

Our middle son, so creative and unique, has been smiling all day long in anticipation of this evening. I was blessed to see him laughing with his new friends in our new town. He was the high scorer at the bowling alley, and I think that was just great for his birthday.

At H’s 2-year old doctor’s appointment, our (then) pediatrician told us he had Asperger’s and needed to start speech and play therapy immediately. It was devastating. It was also untrue.  For some time, I grieved over what I imagined he would lose by that diagnosis. What we would lose. On his birthday, ever since, I thank God we did not have to walk that particular path. Not that there haven’t been challenges, for sure.  But they pale in comparison. ( I can say this because he hasn’t flushed anything down the toilet in many, many years!)

I love this hazel-eyed boy of ours. I can’t imagine a world without him in it. He is wonderful. He is a dreamer. He is ours.

Happy Birthday, Dooda!

~Janna

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 09:54:18

    Wow! What a miracle boy he is for sure! I love him too – I think I will laugh everytime it rains here remembering Hayden saying, “Mrs. Davis, I hate to break it to you, but there’s a small lake in your backyard.”

    Reply

  2. Lauren
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 11:00:51

    YAY for Hayden! Hope his birthday was great! I remember some of the flushing stories from years ago!
    HUGS~~~

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 21:14:10

    We are missing the experience of Hayden’s party, but sending our blessings! Miss that dancing boy! Did anyone get him clay?

    Reply

  4. Janna
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 21:17:16

    Yes, he has 4 new colors!! Can’t wait to see what he will make with them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

