Things to sign up for and some random facts

If you have not ever signed up for Expo tv, I want to tell you a little but about it.  It is similar to swagbucks in that you earn points. It is different from swagbucks in that you make videos about products and give your honest opinions. After reading a blog, the blogger told how she was participating in a tryology program (part of expotv) where she was literally trying out a blu-ray player WHICH SHE GETS TO KEEP. Oh. My. Goodness. I thought to myself, “Self, we have a video camera, in fact, if you count the thingie on my laptop, we have two!!”   I agreed, wholeheartedly. I have made two videos: One on my Bosch mixer and one on what three things I would take to a deserted island (which of course, got me thinking about Lost…) anyhow, I already have over 2000 points!! That’s enough for $15.00 in Amazon.com gc’s.  Hello?  What a deal. I am getting closer and closer to my Roomba. Unless irobot reads this and wants me to test drive a sporty little Roomba (even refurbished :0) that I will give my unbiased opinion on.  It will be a bonus if I get picked for the tryology.  So, there’s my sales pitch. Done with that.

My guys are mowing the lawn right now and I thought I’d tell you some good news. I had a test today (medical) that I was very uneasy about. (That’s an understatement.) I was relieved to find that I am still going to be kickin’ it around for a few more years, it seems. I had another test last night and won’t find out results for a few days. I’m thinking I’ve got stuff to do here in the super-south, so I am choosing not to get all bumbledy-bunched about it. I’ll let you know. Just in case you are interested. Because I would be interested if it were you.  Done with that.

I’m looking for more new coupons to tell you about. I am on coupon-printing hiatus until I get some printer ink. My barcodes are coming out all faint. That means they won’t scan. That means no savings. Sad.

Now for the random facts: They are all about my brief brushes with fame during the 80’s.

  • I went to elementary school and a bit of junior high with one of the girls on Mr Belvedere. Her name was Tracy Wells, but that was her stage name. Her real last name was Brockstein.
  • I met The Greatest American Hero (and his stunt double) in junior high (we lived in Southern California at the time)
  • I went to Junior High with Billy Zapka’s little brother.
  • I shook hands with Dan Quayle (beautiful blue eyes) in college
  • I saw Pope John Paul II in Alaska in 1981. My Mom took us out of school, I think, to see that parade. Must have been Fur Rondy because it was in February.
  • I met two of the actors on Guiding Light in college – Chelsea and Johnny. My best friend, Anissa and I even had buttons of the momentous event.  This button might be worth big bucks now as Guiding Light is no longer on the air. I doubt it.

That’s it, that’s all I’ve got for you.  Whatcha got for me?

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn Smith
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 20:49:40

    I was friends with a friend in jr/sr high that was friends with the orignal preteen girl on Barney and Friends. Yep, the I Love You, You Love Me one. Years later, after marriage and her three children, she visited our church and I was assigned her name on Monday night visitation, but I didn’t recognize her name because she had gotten married. I saw her in Hobby Lobby not too long ago.

    Also, I have this: As I child/preteen, I was obsessed with Kirk Cameron and Growing Pains. I loved him so much and at that time, love translated into wanting good things for him and I knew the ultimate “good thing” was Heaven so I decided to start praying for him to become a Christian. I prayed pretty regularly for a couple of years. And while I DO NOT credit his later conversion to my innocent prayers, I do believe that no matter how famous a person is, they are no different than “real people” in that if we feel a nudge to pray, we should.

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 21:11:13

    What a neat story about Kirk Cameron – Jenn.
    I have been praying for several years for Angelina Jolie to become a Christian and be extremely vocal about it – this encourages me to be more consistent about it!

    Reply

  3. Jenn Smith
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 21:05:01

    Christina, glad to hear it! I have thought for a while now that Bill Maher could be a modern day Paul. He is so vocal and determined to slander Christ and make fun of believers that it would be just like Jesus to meet him face to face and rock his world. Reading your words has reminded me to renew my prayers for him.

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 16:09:30

    umm, umm, nope nuthin’. Never met nobody. But I did meet this one girl, that met like all kinds of people like Dan Quayle, and like saw the Pope and …

    Reply

  5. Doug
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 15:05:19

    Tracy Wells? Wow. I had a huge crush on her back in the ’80’s. Now she’s a realtor in Valencia, CA under the name “Tracy Tofte”…you probably already know this. Weird. I assume by her real last name that she was raised Jewish. Was your school time with her in Woodland Hills? Apparently her mom died of breast cancer when she was 16

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 20:35:18

      Doug, I have no idea where she is now. Wherever she is, I am saddened to hear that she lost her Mom at such a young age.
      ~janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

