The wheat is waving in the wind

The UPS man just left my house. My Honeyville Grain order arrived. I took pictures, I was so giddy. You wanna see?  I knew you did…

I had to use the rolling office chair to get it from the front door to my work area!

I had to use the rolling office chair to get it from the front door to my work area!

Here it is - plain and simple. 50 lbs of wheat.

Here it is - plain and simple. 50 lbs of wheat.

Here is his new home for the next 24 hours. Our freezer. See the yummy baked ziti on the shelf above it? Mmmmmm.

Here is his new home for the next 24 hours. Our freezer. See the yummy poppy seed chicken on the shelf above it? Mmmmmm.

Now, I just have to wait 24 hours until I can start baking up a storm! Why did I put it in the freezer? To kill all the possible little buggies that might be in there. You know it’s there in all of your grain products, right? Do you not want to talk about this? Plug your ears for a second if you don’t.

If you freeze your grains for 24 hours before you grind them, you’ll kill all the live bugs and larvae that may have gotten in your grain. I’m not saying there’s bugs in the Honeyville Grains product. I do this with any grain product I buy. Rice, oats, even store-bought flour. Better safe than sorry. I’ve been sorry, it’s not fun. After the freezer stay, I’ll transfer the wheat to my giant wheat buckets with Gamma Lids. I’ll take pictures for you when I do that. I know, I know… you can’t wait.

So this time I bought hard white wheat. We found that our family prefers this over hard red wheat. It’s a less-harsh flavor. It’s great for bread, tortillas, cookies and most anything else except biscuits. We just don’t like those whole wheat biscuits.  I have some whole wheat pastry berries (berries are the un-ground wheat) in the freezer to use for pies. I hear they are good for biscuits. I just don’t know about that. Anyone have experience with that?

That about wraps it up for today. Tomorrow, if the boys don’t still have fever, we plan on visiting Historic Fort Brown. We just got to the part in our Texas History book where the US/ Mexican war began. Did you know it all started right here at the bottom of Texas? The fort has been incorporated into the University of Texas campus down here. I’m pretty excited. History coming to life!

Go make some history of your own….

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Allen
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 21:49:02

    I like!

    Reply

  2. Irma Rivera
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 14:24:50

    Janna, you’re so efficient in everything you do. I like that in you.

    Reply

  3. Irma Rivera
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 14:25:56

    Janna, you’re so efficient in everything you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

