Look what I made!

Today I made cinnamon rolls and tortillas. After making 4 pans of cinnamon rolls, I still had lots of dough left but wanted to make something else. I remembered a recipe for shredded apple pie my sweet friend, Vanessa sent me and decided I would play with that idea. Here’s how it went:

Rolled out dough just like cinnamon rolls. Sprinkled apple pie spice on the dough (I have this in bulk). Sprinkled organic natural granulated sugar over spice mix.  Peeled and shredded 3 Granny Smith apples and sprinkled over sugar and spice (and everything nice!). Rolled up, cut and baked just like cinnamon rolls. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, vanilla and evaporated milk and drizzled that over the top.

Can I get an Amen?

Plain Janes

Cinnamon Rolls in giveaway pans

 

 

Apple Pie Rolls

Forgot to take a picture until after I had served some! We were excited.

 

Here’s the “Plain Janes” Regular Cinnamon Rolls.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s our big pan of Apple Pie Rolls. This was my Gramma’s pan. It makes me happy every time I use it. I can still see where her rolls were placed, time and time again, in the bottom of the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tortillas were yummy, too. Easy peasy. Wheat flour, oil, salt and baking powder. I love my tortillas press. It is made by Villaware. Once I figured out the secret of using it, I was in serious love. It took a second,, though. It was supposed to be so easy-anyone could do it-that kind of thing.  I kept making these ripped up, sad looking bread pieces. Here’s the secret, just in case you ever find yourself with this gem of an appliance: Listen for the tortilla to scream. The second it does, you life the handle. Perfect tortillas. Just thought you should know.

 

The lonely one

The last tortilla. Left alone on the cutting board. So sad. If H knew, he'd be on that with the butter and honey in 2 seconds flat!

 

 

We went to Matamoros yesterday for lunch. It was great. I did not eat the goat, although it is the specialty. I am still getting used to the fact that yellow cheese and sour cream don’t come with the fajita plate down here. I miss those accessories.  We did some shopping and walked around the streets. It was great. The border crossing back home went fairly easily also. We hear that can be a lonnnnnng wait sometimes. I was happy to use my passport. No stamp, though. Truthfully, I was a little sad about that.

Crossing the riverHere’s the view as we crossed back into Texas. For a while, the front passengers were in Texas while the rest of us were still in Mexico. 🙂

And with that, I’ll close tonight’s chapter of my adventures. Tomorrow night, I am having Choctoberfest at my house. I’ve invited girlfriends over and I’m ready for dessert and girl talk! I have my chocolate fountain out already. Tomorrow, I’ll go buy the bananas and other things to enjoy in the chocolate fountain as well as the cups and napkins.  I’m really looking forward to it. Of course, it could wind up just being me, myself and I – but I’m going to have chocolate one way or another!

 

Dreaming of powdered sugar glaze and chocolate fountains…

~Janna

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 21:53:15

    I’ll be there! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

