Menu Plans and Mondays

You would think that the extra hour of sleep would get me all razzled dazzled this morning…but it didn’t.  I think I am grinding my teeth at night because I woke up with my jaw all clenched tight and have had a headache all day. Uncool.  Anyhow, I made it through the day in one piece and am looking forward to a nice bubble bath tonight!

I made up our weekly menu plan and wanted to give you a peekaboo:

Monday: (B) Cinnamon Rolls (L) Leftovers from our cookout on Sunday (D) Sloppy Joe Bake (new recipe)

Tuesday: (B) Bagels, yogurt (L) Leftover SJ Bake and Salad (D) Chicken Caesar Salad

Wednesday: (B) Pumpkin Muffins (L) Sandwiches (D) Lasagne Roll-Ups (new recipe)

Thursday : (B) Eggs and Toast (L) Leftovers (D) Layered Mexican Bake (new recipe)

Friday : (B) Oatmeal (L) Leftovers (D) Grilled Chicken and Vegetables

Saturday: (B) Pancakes and Eggs (L) Quesadillas with leftover grilled chicken (D) Grilled Salmon

Sunday : (B) Cinnamon Rolls (L) Tacos (D) Grazing (Mom’s night off!)

As you can see, I am testing out some new recipes!  We already tried the Sloppy Joe Bake (well, three of us did…two are still at football practice!) It was a HUGE hit with the two that have tried it. They are the pickiest two, so I am expecting rave reviews from the rest! I got the recipe from…you guessed it – Heavenly Homemakers! It was easy easy. I made a double batch of sloppy joe mix but with only one pound of ground turkey and spread it in a 13X9 pan. Then, I mixed up two boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix and spread it over the top. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Now, it just about killed me to use a box mix of a grain product, knowing that I could totally make my own cornmeal with my grinder, but y’all, I didn’t  buy popcorn at the grocery store. I wrote on my list “cornbread” and got in a hurry there at the end of my grocery shopping. Oh well. In the light of all eternity, I think we’ll be okay, right?  Next time, I’ll do it.

The other new recipes came from Kraft Food and Family magazine. I hope they are okay. That magazine has not always received good recipe reviews from our gang. I am hoping for the best.

So far, the Irobot company has not read this blog yet and sent me a new Roomba to test out. Or maybe they have read it, and don’t want to help me in my dire, dirty floored situation. Either way, the floor is getting the best of me. I am wondering about one of those giant janitorial dry mop thingies. Maybe?

That’s about it for me. I am picturing my tub, filled with hot water and my Southern Living magazine waiting for me, so I’ll sign off now. I’ll let you know what Tommy and Taylor thought of the dinner offering!

Thanks for all of the sweet, encouraging comments you have written me! Although I don’t always respond right when I read them, I think about them for days and weeks after!  Gracias!

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 22:48:57

    I’d like to eat at your house!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

