Hiding in the foxholes

Where did this week go? I find myself stunned that Friday has already wrapped itself up and I am looking at the weekend again.  This week has felt like something out of a WWII movie – hiding in foxholes, staying on guard, watching out for the enemy and fearing the unseen.

We are supposed to close on our old house on Tuesday. What should could have been a fairly easy thing, selling our lovely home, has turned into our most stressful week since we’ve lived here. Today, it all came to a head. Tonight, we saw the enemy for what it was, developed a strategy to fight it, and joined our forces in attack and conquer.  I feel so much better. The five of us sat together in our family room and talked about what was going on. Then we did it…we prayed and took communion together.  I know something changed. I know I will have “a good sleep” as Carter calls it. Changing my perspective to focus on what His final thoughts were – His great unfailing, unchanging love for us – made a world of difference.

Tonight, as I prepare to get my good sleep, even when I have no idea what the details of the next few days look like, I am praying that you will experience the beauty of putting on each piece of the armor that will help you take a stand against your enemy. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, find a Bible and look up Ephesians 6:11. It’s in the back part, but not all the way in the back.

I am loved. So are you.

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Allen
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 20:04:26

    I’m believing for heavenly change! God is faithful!

    Reply

  2. nana
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 13:13:24

    Praying. Great idea what you did with the family. Keep us posted.

    Reply

  3. mom
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 22:28:59

    No weapon that is formed against us will prosper! Hope that all goes well, and this part of your life is just a good God story! i sure miss you. xoxoM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

