Middle of the Week

Will we close on our old house this week? This is the question we have been asking all week long (to be honest, we asked it last week, too!). Quite frankly, I’m sick of it. I never want to see that house again. Ever. Never. I’m serious, too. I’d like to smile faintly as I remember the wonderful things that happened while we lived there. That’s it. Hopefully, we will have a great celebration this weekend as we finish this chapter in our lives.

So, the boys are learning some new chores around here. It’s hard for me to have them do this because they really aren’t good at them, but I suppose it’s part of the process. So far, they already clean their bathroom, put away their laundry and bring their dishes to the sink. New jobs include: loading the dishwasher, putting soap in and turning this miracle machine on. They also are needing to sweep. They really aren’t good at it – let’s be honest. You know how someone will run their fingers across the keys of a piano, hitting every third key or so? Plink, plinka plink, plink.  This is the floor after their sweeping. It’s more like rearranging the dirt and crumbs with a flourish. I keep telling myself that it’s worth it because someday my daughters in law are going to thank me for it!

By the way, I am happy to report there were NO CAVITIES!!! Yahoo!  That was a lovely chapter in today’s novella. Great dentist. I’m pretty sure I’m like, 20 years older than her, but that’s okay. It’s happening more and more. 🙂

Speaking of getting older, I am slowly but surely learning the ropes to my new phone. Why was this so hard for me? And why do those keys and numbers keep getting smaller and smaller? I am totally one step away from needing the Jitterbug phone. You know the one – with the “advanced in age” people on the commercial?  Today, I watched some tv on my Blackberry while I waited for football practice to end. I’m not going to tell you what I watched though, I need to keep you guessing!

I am going to make some pumpkin muffins for my meeting in the morning. I like to pretend those are healthy because they are made with whole wheat flour and pumpkin. In my mind, it nullifies the sugar. It works for me. Lots of things do, I’ve noticed lately!

Well, I  had better run and re-sweep the floors now that the boys are upstairs.

~Janna

 

Leave a Reply

