Yust Yolking

I made 5 really big sheet cakes this morning for our church Volunteer Luncheon. I volunteered to do them, as baking is one of my favorite things to do. I made 2 Texas Sheet Cakes (chocolate with fudge icing) one with pecans in the icing, one without. I also made 3 Blonde Texas Sheet Cakes (buttermilk white with caramel icing) one with pecans in the icing, two without.  I’m now left with 12 egg yolks. I swagbuck searched what I should do and received various ideas, but I’m not sure I’m ever going to use the little fellas and I sure don’t want them to just lurk in the freezer. I have them in the fridge right now as I contemplate my next move. What to do, what to do?

On our date night last week, I had the tastiest salad. It wasn’t a Cobb Salad, yet it had hard-boiled egg in it. I decided I would boil some eggs for my salads this week. If Tommy notices them, he’ll snack on them, but that’s okay, too. I wish I could get the boys to even try one, but they are much afraid.

It looks like we’ll sign all of our paperwork for the title company on Monday and FedEx the whole kit and kaboodle to them so we can officially close on Tuesday. Can I get an Amen? Praise-a-loo-ia!! We are going to celebrate BIGTIME on Tuesday night after it is all over with.

This morning, Tommy took Hayden with him for the church workday. Today, they were working on widows’ homes as well as older couples who just can’t do some things anymore. It was good for Hayden to have that time with his Daddy-o and Mr Wonderful said he did very well. He worked hard. He was not allowed to use the chain saw. That is good stuff. H would not naturally choose to go work in someone else’s yard. He’s not really into “work” per se. 🙂 He had a good time AND he ate a homemade Egg McMuffin that one of the ladies made him. All around fabulous.

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the Children’s Christmas Choir. I love doing Children’s Choir. I get to sing, I get to be in charge and I get to be with kids. Super to the third degree. Of course, I’m going to ask Tommy to record it, so I’ll make you all watch it. It will be adorable, I just know it!  Our Christmas service will be in the 20th, so we’ve only a month to learn the songs. I am not worried, though. You wanna know why? I’ll tell you….It’s because I chose a song that pretty much only has one verse to it. Sometimes, I feel so smart. The second song is the first first of a traditional Christmas Carol, so it shouldn’t be too tricky. Have I mentioned how much I love Children’s Choir? 🙂 I am also participating in the sing-songs with the grownups, too. I like that.

Well, that about wraps it up for me. We have our first playoff game tonight. “Beat the Bears!”  Taylor is chanting. This age of his is often bittersweet. He is walking this fine line between little boy and adolescent. I don’t see much little boy anymore. I like being caught up in the moment of that – rather than realizing what I’m about to lose (and I suppose, gain).  Cue “Sunrise, Sunset” music now…

 

~Janna

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Allen
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 00:31:53

    You make me laugh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

