Chilly-Chili weather

We had chilly weather today. It wasn’t until we were halfway through dinner that I remembered that I purchased all the ingredients to make homemade chili for the next time we had colder-than-normal temperatures.  Oops.  I hope I get another chance, but who knows down here?

I made homemade napkin rings this afternoon. I am not even tempted to take a picture and show you. They are that homemade-looking. Imagine wired ribbon and hot glue.  But they are doing the job – which is holding my pretty new plaid Christmas napkins in tight little rolls. By the way, how many of you use cloth napkins at your table? My Mom just brought me some new Lenox Christmas ones in addition to the plaid she also brought. I’m afraid to use the Lenox ones on any meal other than clear broth. They are too pretty!!

This morning, as I was thinking about my Mom, I decided to make a retro (at least for me) breakfast for the boys.  I made a Dutch Baby Pancake. My Mom used to make this for us regularly when we were growing up. The boys loved watching it puff up in the oven and then slowly deflate once I took it out of there. It was delicious! I squeezed some lemons, got the powdered sugar out and – SHAZAM!  It was a great start to our day.  Sometimes, you really need to have a great start to your day like that. Some days a “regular start” doesn’t quite cut the mustard. By the way, where in the world did that expression come from? Who cuts mustard? Weird.

I am off to early sleep (I hope). My tomorrow will be filled with making homemade toffee. I burned my second batch this afternoon. That’s not a great aroma to have wafting through the house. Gross. (And a waste of ingredients-ugh) If you are in the area, swing by and I just might give you a little sample. It is gooo-oood!

Sweet dreams, y’all.

~Janna

Leave a Reply

