Finishing School

We are on our last week of school for 2009. I am so excited, I can’t stand it. I am really ready for the break.  It gives me a chance to regroup and recharge and all the other good “re” things. We finished history week before last so we already have less to do. Hurrah!

Carter finished his work before breakfast. As I type this, some of you may be wondering, “how is this possible? She must not be teaching him ANYTHING!”  Here’s how it’s possible: He sauntered into my room at early dark o’clock this morning with his math book, handwriting and grammar book.  We did grammar  orally while I was still wiping the sleep out of my eyes and trying to focus on the clock 3 feet away from me.  Grammar doesn’t actually take that long for him this year. He is in for a surprise next year, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it, right? 🙂  Next, he tackled math. It was an easy lesson today. More weights and measurements and only 9 l0ng division problems. (insert wild cheering)  That was a nice Monday treat.  While he was finishing up a word problem, I went downstairs and flaked some oats for breakfast. I put them in a saucepan with water and Mr C. walked downstairs with his handwriting. He finished that while the oats were cooking.  Voila!  He still has his reading to do, as well as Spanish on the computer. We do Bible, Science and Latin all together.

Want to know why he was so motivated this morning? Here’s the secret: He has been invited to go play at a friends’ house this afternoon. He can only go if his school is done by lunch.  That’s the secret.  Now, if only I could convince my friend to invite him over every other day or something like that!  In any case, it’s a great way for him to start out this last week before break.

We are going to trot over to Michael’s Craft Store today.  For some reason, the boys really want to make Gingerbread Houses this year. We have never done this. I have always managed to avoid it somehow. I don’t think it’s going to work this year, however!  So, I decided to just buy a kit because they are on sale and I don’t really see the need to make our own when they are going to cover it with icing and candy anyway. Some things are just not worth it, in my opinion.

Maybe you have noticed that I have not posted any pictures lately. I have noticed.  My digital camera broke. It is very sad. I gave my older camera to my oldest son (it still works) but he is hesitant to loan it to me for some reason…If Santa doesn’t bring me one (and he may not) I may have to work out some sort of camera-share program with my soon-to-be 12 year old.  I’ll keep you posted.

On the menu this week:

Monday: (B) Oatmeal (L) Leftover Chili (D) Loaded baked potato night

Tuesday: (B) Whole Wheat Waffles (L) Tortilla Roll-ups, veg sticks (D) Fish and chips, homemade ice cream

Wednesday: (B) Fruit (and veggie!) smoothies (L) Soup and grilled cheese (D) Meatballs, veg, homemade buttered noodles

Thursday : (B)Yogurt and fruit (L) Sandwiches and veg sticks (D) Homemade Calzones, salad

Friday : (B) Pumpkin Muffins (L) Leftover Calzones, Veg sticks (D) Kids eat quesadillas, we are going out for our ANNIVERSARY!!!! (17 years, woo-hoo! We are going to eat seafood on the island)

Saturday (our Christmas here) (B) Sausage Balls, Birthday Cake for Jesus, Hot Cocoa, Juice (L) Burgers, homemade buns, salad (D) Taco stack-up. I’ll have the meat already seasoned and I’ll just pop it in the crock pot at lunch. Very clever, I know.

Sunday : (B) Eating at church: It’s our Christmas program and we have to get there at 7:30 am for choir rehearsal  (L) Crock Pot Chicken  (D) Leftovers

~Janna

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beccca
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 12:12:53

    hurray for having an anniversary and eating seafood at the island! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

