just when you think you are over it….

It’s Sunday and I have been up since 6 am. Let me start by saying I despise am not a fan of mornings. Except on vacation ( I have no idea why).  We were all at church by 7:30,  all bright and shiny and I had to be on stage for choir. I thought I looked so cute in my black dress and churchlady red and black jacket, y’all.  Within 10 minutes, I was so toasty warm from the lights, I had to rip that jacket right off.  At 8:00 am, the kids from the kids’ choir started trickling in. Trickle is truly appropriate. Half of the kiddos didn’t actually arrive until 9:00. No biggie.

Fast forward to the service: Pastor Tommy (tee hee) invited the children to the stage after a bit and the kids came running. I just knew someone was going to fall up the steep stairs, but no one did. Yahoo!  I am going to brag on these babies for a second…THEY WERE AMAZING!!!! I’m not just saying that because three of them were mine. I’m not just saying that because I was the choir leader. It’s completely true. They sang two songs and rocked the house. As soon as the service was over, I happily threw my shoes off in the car (not my most comfortable pair, but they are so sparkly and pretty!) and took a deep breath. Vacation has begun for me!!!  I’m so happy. I’m so happy. I’m so happy.

We had our family Christmas yesterday so the boys will be occupied with their new toys and books.  I got a book on cheesemaking that has been on my Amazon wish list for some time. I am going to try mozzarella first. I think it will be the most rewarding. Did you know that traditionally, mozz is made from the milk of the water buffalo? Since it is pretty much impossible to get water buffalo milk here in the US, it’s most often made with cow’s milk. I don’t think I am going to be searching the internet for a water buffalo milk source. In fact, the more I think about it, the more grossed out I get.

Someday, we are going to go to Italy and tour several regions we are fascinated with. We also want to tour a cheese making facility in Parma. Doesn’t that sound like the coolest?  We have been able to do some international traveling, but we haven’t been back to Europe since we had the boys. I keep thinking they need to be a bit older to really appreciate it. It doesn’t make much sense when I remember that they have been to Honduras twice and appreciated it quite a bit, thankyouverymuch.  Still, I have Italy on the next few years’ horizon. If you have ever seen Rick Steves on PBS, you’ll know exactly where we want to go.

FYI: Just in case you live in the DFW area, I feel like I should tell you that we are praying superhard for the most snow EVER over Christmas. Cold, blizzards, you name it.  Just thought I would give you a heads up!

Tomorrow, we are going to have some friends over while Mr T is slaving away at work. We are going to make cake balls.  I saw them online and I just knew I had to try them. I’ll let you know.I am also going to start packing. I actually like to plan and pack quite a bit. I love the lists. They make me feel really safe. Does that make sense?   🙂

I’ll end this by telling you that yesterday, I read something that broke my heart. I cried and cried and had to ask God to help me forgive someone for what they said about me, my man and our friends. It was awful and I got physically sick over it.  You know, I thought I wasn’t a people pleaser any more. I really did.  I thought that it was no longer second nature for me. I was wrong. I really am sad when others are mad at me. I don’t have thick skin and I would prefer it if I could make everyone laugh and be happy. I guess I still have some work to do. After Mr T comforted me and prayed for me, I was doing so much better.

Although last night was a kleenex marathon;  this morning, one of the teens at our church sang and it was so good. In my head (and sometimes out loud, ugh) I’m pretty much like Simon on American Idol, so when I say he was really good, I mean it. Anyhow, he was singing and I was on stage and I caught Tommy’s eye. My eyes were watery because I was so touched by how God knows me and yet still loves me with an everlasting love. He lead us through wilderness and brought us here to the land of tortillas and grapefruit (that’s just like milk and honey, right?).  I knew just by looking at Tommy that he was feeling the same thing.  I was so thankful to share that moment in time with Tommy and to be sharing this life with him. I was thankful that even though I can’t possibly please everyone I know and will make them mad or upset at me at one time or another…I please God.   Now, that’s a safe feeling.

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Allen
    Dec 21, 2009 @ 21:54:20

    We are thankful to God for you, Tommy and your precious sons!

    Reply

  2. Gisela
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 16:38:58

    Janna, don’t worry about what people say, you and Pastor Tommy are doing an EXCELLENT job and we love you and appreciate everything that you guys do. You are a VERY special lady and one thing that I admire from you is your caring and sweet personality. Don’t let the enemy stop you.

    Te quiero mucho amiga!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

