Finding a moment

Unpacking has never been my favorite thing to do. Before we left, I told myself that I should go ahead and put away all of the Christmas decor.  Well, I didn’t.  I really should have because it was a lot of stuff and we now have to store Christmas in our attic which is accessed by the pull-down stair action in the garage.  Are you sensing my distaste of it yet? Several times, I thought I would surely fall to my death as I lugged both trees, the ornaments and everything else up, up, up. Yuck.  I had to do it before I could start rearranging the family room, though!

I don’t know if I told you this, but we rented a U-Haul for the trip home. We just knew we would have so many Christmas gifts!! (Not really) Seriously, we knew we were going to bring a piano and a recliner home and anything else I could cram in there!  The grand total wound up at : 1 recliner, 1 chair and a half, 1 end table, 1 lamp, 1 piano with bench, 1 new bicycle (Tate had his birthday up there!), 1 beanbag chair and the Christmas gifts. We were so blessed that I am speechless whenever I think about it all (and that’s saying something for me!)

So after Christmas departed our home for the attic, I changed the family room around about 4 times until I got something I kinda-sorta like. Yesterday, I spray painted the lamp (purchased at a thrift store for $2.50, thankyouverymuch) and placed it on the end table which I have not painted yet (also purchased at thrift, but for a whopping $7.00) The recliner has been claimed by Mr Darcy as his very own personal space. We are allowed to recline only while he is at work. That’s fine by me because the other chair is quite girlie. 🙂  I put my books, a coaster for my drink and a lamp behind it. I feel so relaxed in my new girl zone. I have let the boys sit in my chair, but I reminded them it is floral, so they shouldn’t get too comfortable.

I didn’t do a menu plan this week because Tommy and I are only eating fruits and vegetables all week.  I am just winging it for the boys.

Tomorrow, I’ll write more and give you a link to the idea I’m going to use for my end table.

Until then, I am dreaming of cheeseburgers and eating spinach.

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 00:12:27

    So when are you and I going to stop shopping at thrift stores?!

    But I do LOVE those places – always the most unique finds… however will be glad when I do it just because I want to – not with the bottom line always in mind. 😉

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 14:44:28

    Rhonda – I love the treasures that I find! Where else can I find old things that I remember from my Gramma’s or bits and pieces of things I might want? I have just made a list of the thrift stores in the next town over (25 minutes) so I can check those out!
    ~J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

