menu plans on monday

I am linking this post to Heavenly Homemakers’ Menu Plan Monday.

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.  We sure did! I awoke this morning with plans dancing in my mind and ready to get crackin’…

The boys are finishing breakfast, so I thought I’d take this opportunity to jot down my menu plans for the week:

Monday (B) Dutch babies with fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar (L) Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, fruit slices (D) Grill chicken breasts with orange marinade, rice, salad

Tuesday (B) Baked Oatmeal (L) Chicken Salad Sandwiches (using leftover chicken from dinner on Monday) (D) Baked Potato Bar, Veggies

Wednesday (B) Smoothies (L) Sandwiches (D) Spaghetti, foccacia dipping bread, salad, brownies {Company over!}

Thursday (B) Breakfast pizza (L) Leftovers (D) Baked Potato Soup

Friday (B) Homemade Granola (L) Sandwiches (D) Chicken Legs on the grill, baked corn, fruit salad

Saturday (B) Cinnamon Oat Waffles (L) Eat at Lopez Market 🙂 (D) Chicken and Rice in homemade tortillas

Sunday (B) Breakfast Cookies (L) Chicken with stuffing (D) Fend for self (Mom’s night off)

Can you tell that chicken was on sale this week? 🙂 Got some great deals…I am also planned for the next  two weeks because we have some out-of-the-country guests coming to stay with us. Next week will be 101 meals with turkey followed by what you can do with the ginormous Pork Roast in your freezer. Stay tuned.

On a lighter (hopefully) note – We received a Wii for Christmas and I received the Wii Fit. Now, I think the boys like it every bit as much as Mom! This weekend, I unlocked rhythm boxing. That was possibly a mistake. I think my arms are falling off. I almost can’t lift them. Besides that – it was downright embarrassing when I couldn’t figure out AT ALL how to make my feet move one way and punch at the same time. Too much for this chick! I will attempt it again today and maybe I will “get it” this time.

Haircut for me this weekend. It’s short. I love it. It had gotten so frumpy-looking. Too long and my hair revolts. It literally mattes up in the back like a sheepdog. The curls and thick, coarse hair no likey…Gee-that’s a great image for you to have of me!  Anyhow, here’s the new look (it was late when I took this…)

I like how I have my arms crossed, like I am ready to be loaded into a coffin or something. It’s hard to figure out how to pose when you are taking pictures of yourself….

Have a great Monday! Squeeze your kiddos a little longer today and give a friend a call just to say, “Have a great week”   We all need extra love and affection. I need it, you need it, your neighbor needs it.

~Janna

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 13:29:18

    Like your hair cut.

    What are dutch babies?

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 15:26:05

    Thanks, Elaine! Dutch babies are similar to German Pancakes. They are easy to make. Flour, eggs, milk, sometimes nutmeg. Put a skillet in the oven with butter in it to melt. After it has melted, you pour in the batter and it puffs up. I serve it with lemon juice and powdered sugar because that’s what my Mom always did…
    ~Janna

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 19:20:51

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your haircut!!!
    AND… I can tell I love Heavenly Homemakers…. what a neat site, neat heart, and kindred spirit!!!!

    Hugs to you~~~~~~
    L

    Reply

  4. Janna
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 22:07:02

    Oh, Lauren! I feel like a bit of a stalker with the lady from that site! I just know I would love her in real life. Does that make me crazy? 🙂 (Don’t answer!) I do enjoy her site and she “gets” the all boys thing, for sure!

    Miss you – Don’t you all NEED to come down to the ocean? 🙂

    ~Janna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

