tonight’s the night

Tonight I have invited some girls over to play a card and dice game. We’ll have snacks (of course!) and hopefully lots of laughter. I can’t wait. I love snacks and laughter.

On the menu tonight for the family is an oldie but goodie recipe. I am making a variation on Suzanne Somers’ Creamy Tex Mex Pork Chops. I am making it with Chicken Breasts, though. It is so yummy. I am going to post the recipe:

4 boneless pork chops, salt and pepper, 2 teaspoons of her Tex Mex Seasoning Blend or just fajita seasoning, 4 T butter, 1 c heavy cream (I know…), 1 c salsa, lime wedges

Pound the chops until they are 1/2 inch thick. (I don’t think I do this part…ever) Season each chop with salt, pepper and 1/4 teaspoon of TexMex seasoning. Turn the chops over and season again.

Heat butter in large skillet over medium heat. Add chops to the pan. Saute for 2.5 minutes. Turn them over and cook for an additional 2 minutes. (Basically, cook those chops on both sides, but don’t overdo it) Remove from the pan and transfer onto a serving platter. Cover with foil to keep warm.

Add cream and salsa to saute pan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon sauce over chops. You can squeeze lime juice over the chops before serving (but I never do)

Tex Mex seasoning (makes 1/2 cup): 1 T plus 1 t cayenne pepper, 2 T plus 2 t dried oregano, 2 T plus 2 t ground cumin, 1 T plus 1 t ground coriander, 2 t black pepper, 2 t sea salt (or reg salt)  Combine. It will keep up to 6 months.

As I mentioned, we love this recipe. I am going to serve it with basmati rice. And frozen fruit bars. Yeah, we like those.

Now for a question: Is it wrong for a woman my age (and with my, ahem, lumps) to own (and wear around the house) leggings? I have a pair on right now and I am questioning if they should be transferred out of my closet. Kind of like the witness protection program. I am thinking they are not kind to my rumpus. It is scary. And I opened the front door wearing them today. Do I really need to mention that I don’t have on a cutesie tunic over them? I don’t.

Hey! Look what worked today! I have no idea why it won’t go into the last post – but here it is in all it’s glory. You can clap quietly now.

FINALLY! It must have wanted a post all to itself: see the Burberry tp holder and above it hangs the framed antique maps - downloaded from graphicsfairy

So I’m leaving you with a picture of our toilet. Nice. When my parents went to Europe the first time, my Mom brought home 30 pictures of the toilets and bidets at the hotels they stayed at. It must run in the family.

~Janna

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mom
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 21:01:07

    We take our fascination where we can(pun)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

