Makin’ Things

What is it about the words, “I made it myself!” that feels so good?  I don’t know about you, but I get a whole lot of warm fuzzies inside when I get to say it.  There is a sketch-comedy character named Stuart that says, “Look what I can do!” and does a little dance.  Tommy and I frequently will say that to each other (okay, it’s more me than him) and laugh.

So, guess what I made???

Let me show you…

Pepperoni stuffed crust, all cheese and mushroom

Pepperoni, ground turkey and 3 cheese

This is dinner tonight. I made 5 pizzas. This will also be lunch tomorrow. Before you get all crazy and tell me that 5 pizzas is too many for a family of 5…let me remind you that I have ALL BOYS and we like thin crust pizza. I’m just sayin’.  I used ground turkey, seasoned with Italian Seasoning as well as turkey pepperoni.  I made the crusts this afternoon and par-baked them at 500 degrees for 5-6 minutes.

Next up…

Homemade Laundry Detergent made with ZOTE. I hear there's a special way to pronounce "Zote" but I don't know if I believe it.

Look how cute and pink my new laundry detergent is. I have been so pleased with this batch – my first with the new bar soap. I like pink detergent. Makes me feel so lovely as I throw in load after load of boy clothes.

Followed by:

Homemade table runner, napkins and other fun.

The Cricut cut out "I love you" and the boys' initials...they each got some Sculpey clay. Good times.

On Valentine’s Day, I had a ball making special things for my guys…we made love notes to each other on paper hearts and taped those around the entry to the dining room. I am saving those forever. My favorite said , “I love you Mom. You almost always make good food.”

And last:

This was our yummy Southwest Chicken and Rice. Remind me never to photograph food on the yellow plate again. It looks a little vomitrocious.

This was a great dinner that doesn’t look like it from my photography.  The boys all liked it. That’s a nice thing for this Mommy.

That’s all for now. I have been busy makin’ things around here in addition to what is pictured. Of course, I’ve been baking. 🙂 I also made a sweet little picture for my kitchen using a photograph from our trip to the Musee D’Orsay in Paris. It makes my smile when I see it. Since this is not how I feel when I look at the pile of laundry, it’s a nice diversion for me.

So, what have YOU been making?

Do tell….

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vanessa
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 21:28:31

    You are my hero, by the way! Hmmmm….. what have I been making – I made a mountain with the laundry….. I made a pile of dishes to wash….I made my kids laugh….. so I’m thinking today’s a good day.

    Reply

  2. Elaine
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 21:44:51

    Enjoyed this post. A question…I have not heard of par-bake… assuming this is baking before adding everything to make a crisper crust? Or what is the reason?
    I made a new stew. It is easy and very yummy. A crock pot recipe you can find on my blog.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Mar 07, 2010 @ 17:02:28

      Elaine – you are exactly right. Par-baking is used mostly in restaurants and grocery offerings. Essentially, it’s baking it so the inside is cooked but the outside isn’t so it can be “finished” at a later time and give the effect of “fresh-baked”. I do it so the crust will be crispy.! A soggy, whole wheat pizza crust is not tasty.

      Reply

  3. Jamie
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 22:46:02

    You Rock! I so wanna be like you! 🙂
    What have I been making? Well… found a new website http://www.cookinggodsway.com and have been trying lots of new recipies from there. Learning about cooking with stuff like coconut oil and almond four, ect… (crying about all of the good food with High Fructose Corn Syrup that we are now eleminating from our home)

    Reply

  4. Martha
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 15:47:51

    Zote is the only laundry bar soap I can find. For some reason, the grocery stores here all carry it, right next to the laundry detergent with the Spanish labels. Hmm… I’m developing a theory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

