Gratituesday

Yesterday was not my favorite day so far. It started off with two boys fighting, my man told me I snored, and mid-morning brought family medical stress beyond belief. I was crying, praying and my mind was swirling all at the same time. I was supposed to bake, but who could entertain her inner Ma Ingalls when she was feeling this way?

Thankfully, blessedly, mercifully..our family member got results from tests that showed nothing seriously wrong. Yet, my knotted tummy could not seem to release the stress.

I am reading a new book called The DNA of Relationships by Dr. Gary Smalley. I think I can pinpoint what the problem was: Me.  The theory of this book is that it is not what actually happens to us that causes us to “feel” or have emotions, but rather how we dwell on it after the event occurs. My thoughts are driving the emotions.

Honey, my thoughts were ruling over Crazytown yesterday. I was questioning everything and everybody.  Until I remembered the book. I got myself back into right thinking. I remembered Who is really in control (no surprise, it’s not me).

Today, I am in a better state of mind, although in reality, my circumstances haven’t changed all that much. I am not going to dwell on the yuck stuff. I am going to dwell on GRATITUDE.  GRATITUDE is going to make my ATTITUDE.

My boys are healthy, beautiful, active and super smart. They love the Lord.

My husband is patient, loving, hilarious, a hunk and sensitive to me. He also loves the Lord.

I have a great family. (Both sides)

God loves me.

We have plenty of food to eat, a great house to live in, two automobiles to get around this great town in and wonderful new friends.

I could go on and on, but I won’t need to. You get the picture.

Stop replaying the yuck. Change the record (or the cassette, or the 8-track).

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shonda
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 12:55:26

    Right on!!

    Reply

  2. vanessa
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 13:26:07

    That’s exactly what I needed to hear! Love you sweet friend!

    Reply

  3. LeAnne Wadsworth
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 17:07:37

    You’re so awesome Janna! Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  4. christina
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 22:46:17

    hmm…I might need to borrow that book when you’re done!

    Reply

  5. Lauren
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 23:03:58

    I am grateful I read this today! I needed it! You bless me from afar… lots of love to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

