Kitchen Machines I Love

At this very moment, I am making waffles for dinner.  In the past couple of years, I asked for (and received) the best waffle iron – EVER. It is made by Krups and makes two ginormous Belgian waffles at a time. You pour the batter in, close it, wait 10 seconds and flip it over. I bake ours for 3 minutes. Yumsville.  I think anyone who likes waffles should have one. It makes me happy.

This morning, I had two cups of coffee brewed in my very special Keurig machine. It uses cute little containers of coffee (so many varieties to choose from) and quickly makes my morning (okay, I drink it all day) get going. I also have a special little cup that I can put my own coffee in -so I don’t have to buy their little cups. I have used it – but I’m just going to be honest with you here…I really love those little K-Cups. They make me happy. They also make our life group pretty happy! I had a Senseo coffee maker before this. It was not as lovely, in my opinion and the coffee was not as tasty. I still have Gaggia lust, though. I wonder if that will ever go away? Probably not.

In the first stages of my blogging life, I waxed poetically about my Bosch Universal mixer and Nutrimill. I just can’t tell you how much I love these things. I use them pretty much every week. (note: my mixer is two years older than the model I’ve linked. Just wanted you to know). I have several attachments for my Bosch and use those often. I have a food processor, several kinds of whips/paddles, meat grinder, pasta extruder and a grain flaker.

I frequently use my stick blender – but not as much as I thought I would. I do like it, though. It is invaluable when I am making soups. I am glad I don’t have the super-expensive model of this kitchen tool because I would feel bad about not using it as much. I’d still keep it – but that’s because I’m addicted to kitchen appliances – but you are probably already figuring that out, aren’t you?

I am in fiesta love with my Villaware tortilla press/baker. It also makes flatbreads. I wouldn’t be able to tell you about that, because I have never made those. I keep saying I am going to make some, but it hasn’t happened yet. Tortillas are another story, though. I make whole wheat tortillas all the time in this little baby.  Si, si..es muy bueno!

I have several other special friends lurking in my kitchen that I have fond feelings for: Mr Crockpot, the Griddle, Fondue Pots  (yes, that’s plural), panini press ( I love it, but now that boys eat adult portions, I rarely use it – it takes too long) Monsieur Crepe Maker, KitchenAid mixer, Cuisinart ice cream maker, Cuisinart blender and other food processor (also a Bosch, but not on the same level of Boschness) and hand crank pasta maker. I can’t get rid of them. I just can’t. I love them all too much and I do use them…sometimes.

So tell me, what’s your favorite small kitchen appliance? Please don’t tell me you think I might have a hoarding problem with them – I already know… 🙂

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Faber
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 21:20:23

    My favorite kitchen appliance must be my tortilla maker, I don’t have much, but I love to make tortillas Lilly showed me how to make tortillas, embarrassing that my 13 year old taught me how to make tortillas.
    In fact we cook everything without appliances like yours; I wish I could have some.

    Reply

  2. ashleychristian
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 21:42:38

    Jana I love hearing about your kitchen tools! I was just today going to sell my Zo and get the Bosch, come to find out they have a NEW much more expensive model, waaaaaa, I guess I’ll just have to wait longer 😦

    Reply

    • Janna
      Mar 14, 2010 @ 20:36:59

      I have found several on Craigslist for people. Start looking! (Unless you live where I do and Craigslist doesn’t really exist – sigh…

      Reply

  3. Lauren
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 17:21:13

    My all time favorite kitchen appliance is my Kitchenaid mixer. Can’t believe I used my cheap little hand held one for so long!
    I have a grill pan by Cuisinart, that is really nice, cooks evenly…
    And of course, the 5 qt crockpot is in regular use here. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Janna
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 16:01:03

    Lauren, I do love the crockpot! I am about to put it to use with the nifty throw-away liners on Sunday for our church potluck. I have not been as thrilled with my grill pan. It is not easy to clean. I like “easy to clean!”

    ~Janna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

