Spring Break

We weren’t going to take Spring Break this week. We were going to press through even though all of our friends here were on Spring Break. It didn’t work so well. We have done not even half of the work for the week.  Sad, sad, sad.

I think I might have figured out what we are going to do for school next year. I love this part. I love the planning, the research, the dreaming.  It’s my favorite part. This year, we are using Veritas Press for our literature and we did Texas History, Presidents, States and Capitals for History/Geography.  I love the book list that Veritas uses. We are going to use them for the whole kit and kaboodle next year.  I am so excited!  I don’t know if you realize this, but homeschool bookstores (or any bookstores, actually) aren’t in abundance down here. In fact, we have ONE bookstore in our town. A very tiny Waldenbooks in the mall. It’s sad. No Half-Price Books…sniff.  In any case, I can order the books I need for next year.  By the way, did you already know about www.thriftbooks.com? I didn’t until this week. My supersmart, superbeautiful (in all ways) Western Bestern Friend told me about it! Check it out – cheap used books and FREE SHIPPING!!!  Wahoo!

In other news, I made the BEST smoothies this morning. I thought I’d share some pictures with you so you could pretend you were here enjoying one with us. 🙂

You can't see that spinach, can you? The boys loved these!

The boys decided they tasted like Gogurt. I don’t even know when I bought Gogurt last, but it’s been YEARS (When I was a serious couponer, I am sure)

Smoothies are a great way to get more fruits (and veggies) into our tummies. I will freeze the rest into my heirloom (that’s my new way of saying “old” Tupperware popsicle molds and they will have a treat after mowing the lawn today. Yes, you read that right, we are mowing down here. Our grass is crazy. I think we only had one month off. I say “we” but I mean them – you knew that, right?  And yes, our boys do the work. Tate and Hayden mow – one does the front, one does the back. They do the weedeating. Carter does the blowing and sweeping. We invested in 18 volt battery lawn tools. They are very lightweight – no cords, no gasoline. Even Carter can use them all.  Worth it for us.  Mowing the lawn is (as Carter puts it) their main source of income. We don’t give allowances. Our thinking is this: In the real world – you don’t get paid unless you work. You don’t get paid for keeping your house tidy or your clothes clean or for picking up after yourself. They don’t HAVE to mow. Tommy is able-bodied enough to do it.  If they do the yardwork, though, they get paid. We offer other extra jobs like this for them to make cash, as well. We are teaching them how to handle their money (tithe, save, give away, spend) from what they actually earn, not what we give them because they are cute or clean their rooms. (They are cute, though, aren’t they?)

The boys have to keep their rooms clean, beds made, clothes put away (and bring the clothes to the washer) as well as kitchen jobs that rotate. This is part of the “we all live in the yellow submarine” bit. We all do our house jobs because we live here. I don’t get paid to do my house jobs and Tommy doesn’t get paid to do his house jobs. real life.  I am not knockin’ how anyone else does it, I am just sharing what we do and why.

With that thought, I’ll close for the day and gather my guys and read our chapter books so I can pretend we are doing some schoolwork today.

Make a smoothie and tell me what you put in yours!

~Janna

Leave a Reply

