Did you miss me?

Well, c’mon….did you? I missed you. Kind of.  We just returned home last night from an 8 day trip back to the DFW area. It was wonderful. I was limited to short spurts on the laptop because we were so busy being with the ones we love. And oh, how we love those ones!  We spent time with my whole family, I had a surprise birthday party thrown in my honor ( I even had a tiara!), we had limited- but special times with a few friends. The boys saw each and every one of their cousins. Our visit included special times with Mr Wonderful’s younger sister and her family all the way from Raleigh, North Carolina (well really, it’s a city right next to Raleigh, but unless you are from that neck of the woods, you won’t know the difference! And if you are from that neck of the woods, who remembers the Pine State Dairy milkman coming to their house with the fresh dairy items? Was that the coolest thing, or what? I miss the Pine State Milkman…sigh)

Anyhow, our visit was simply filled with goodness. We were saturated with it. My mother in love is fighting a nasty, nasty disease and I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful it felt to hug her neck and sit where I could just reach out and touch her. We all did a lot of hugging last week. It was good everytime.

We  spent a day and a half at The Great Wolf Lodge in Grapevine, Texas. People, if you have considered taking your family, I think you should go. We had a bunch of fun. It was a great place for our family reunion day. All 18 of us enjoyed ourselves and we certainly are not the same ages! There is something so amazing about seeing your husband, two brothers in love and my father in love come down a waterslide together. Their laughter was uncontrollable.  This made their laughter contagious. We took pictures. I can’t show them. I made a promise. But picture it with me, if you will….4  men…um…mature men – all squeezed on an innertube together. They go down a twisty-turny, I-think-I-am-going-to-fall-out-and-on-top-of-someone swirling waterslide. When they finally arrive at the bottom pool, they are laughing so hard they almost can’t get out of the tube. I have never seen my man’s Daddy laugh so hard. Ever.

Laughter heals, y’all. It’s true. Even if I didn’t believe the Bible, I’d know it was true. We could have had a sad, sorrow-filled, melancholy week. We didn’t.  We laughed. We laughed hard. We laughed about crazy songs. We laughed about swimwear.  We laughed and enjoyed the beauty of living life together.

My arms ache a little in their loneliness to hold our family members. I wanted each last hug and kiss to last much longer. We are loved by both of our families and we love them. We are so blessed.

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 21:10:23

    Enjoyed hearing about your trip here. Loved the pictures on facebook. Jim called Tommy after I showed him the ones of him laughing so hard. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

