fun stuff

The earlier post was actually written last night, but then Lost came on and I totally forgot to post it. 🙂

Here’s what really happened today:

We went out to water the garden this morning and found snow peas!!  We ate one to see how amazingly delicious they were. They did not disappoint. Two of my guys won’t eat snow peas when I put them out on our salad bar but they ate it when they picked it from the garden.  AHA!!  The experiment is working! I can’t to see how the squash goes!  Broccoli is growing well although something is nibbling on the leaves. I don’t know what ate all my spinach because they obviously don’t like leaf lettuce and moderately care for Romaine lettuce. I am looking forward to a yummy salad by Friday with the leaf lettuce. The squash is blooming. I told the boys the blossom was edible and by golly they wanted to try it! I told them no for now. I want to grow the squash. Maybe that was a mistake.  Here’s the biggest mystery: What is going on with my tomatoes? I planted several plants in the garden and three in the dirt that everyone said won’t grow a thing. The ones in my garden are pitiful. Horrible. Ugly. The three in the dirt, surrounded my old license plates are stunning. Really, really beautiful. What is going on? What did I do wrong? Somebody help me! I had such visions of salsa and marinara that I was going to can….

What's going on here? They are so unhappy. I am so unhappy.

These are the three I plugged into the ground with the old license plates as the edging. So happy-these tomatoes.

I am about to start some chocolate chip cookies using a new recipe. It makes 6 dozen. I am going to flash freeze them in their little ball shapes rather than the cookie log method I have done before. It makes it easier to grab a frozen cookie ball and eat it while on the run. I’m serious. Plus, when you have unexpected company, it’s faster to defrost the frozen balls. Oh no, now all I can think about is that Saturday Night Live sketch with Alec Baldwin….not good. (But funny).

Life Group Tonight. Young Married couples. Love them. Tomorrow night the Mr and I are going to a Fundraising Dinner. I get to dress up. I wonder what they’ll serve?

Lastly, have I mentioned to you that I am off of soft drinks? It’s true. It’s what I gave myself for my birthday. They are bad for my teeth (and we are convinced the water here is also bad for our teeth and skin), bad for my bones (and I have a HIGH family history of osteoporosis) and make you feel hungrier. So there you go. I am on a tea and lemonade kick right now. Any other hot day suggestions? I already drink water. Oh, and coffee.

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 22:25:53

    Did you use the shortening in the cookie recipe. I don’t think I can go there. I’m a butter girl. But I want to make 6 dozen cookies!

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 09:52:36

    Nope – any time a recipe calls for shortening, I use coconut oil. Unless I am making pie crust. But, I have been reading about palm shortening, but don’t know what I think about it yet.

    ~J

    Reply

  3. Martha
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:53:17

    That’s the answer I was hoping for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

