The things we do for love…

It’s Monday. That usually means big baking for me. Today, I just can’t will myself to do it. I keep hesitating to put anything into the big freezer because we don’t know when we are going to have to move. It’s the pits.  I have been working on our menu plan, though.  Wanna hear it?

Monday: Chicken Pot Pie

Tuesday: Turkey Sausage and tomato sauce over pasta

Wednesday: Feta Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Thursday: Pork Chops with Dijon Herb Sauce

Friday: Tacos

Saturday: Salmon Croquettes

Sunday: BBQ Chicken on the Grill

On Saturday, I made a delicious Rosemary Roasted Chicken in the oven. Today, I got to do one of my least favorite things IN THE WORLD…debone it. It’s gross. It’s disgusting. I feel like a wolf. I hate it.  I had the angel on one shoulder saying, “Janna, you are jsut like Nourishing Traditions. This is so good for your family. You are frugal, you are giving your children minerals from making this stock.” The devil on the other shoulder was saying, “This is seriously gross. Just go buy some chicken nuggets at Sam’s Club.”

I struggled today. I really did. Most days, cooking healthfully (is that even a word?) is easy and enjoyable. But that’s when I am not peeling cold chicken skin away from the bone. I persevered. It is on the stove in my gorgeous dutch oven cooking away. I will make a yummy stock and then tonight – a chicken pot pie. I may change that idea if Carter gets wind of what I am planing. HE thinks chicken pot pie is evil and the same thing as telling a lie to children because one time he saw Rachael Ray say how you could sneak veggies into it and the “kiddos will never know.” This bothered my Carter. He is all about what is fair and right and just.  I might have to make chicken and dumplings – which will be yummy, too. I do love my baby…

When Tommy and I were newlyweds, I made chicken and dumplings often. They were cheap and they were easy because I made them with Bisquick. We liked it. I felt like a grown-up when I made it. I don’t make it too often anymore, so it could be a real treat. I think I just changed my menu plan for tonight!! 🙂

I’ve got some homeschool stuff on ebay that is ending as I type this. I was so hopeful. I was already counting my chickens before they hatched. The first item had 12 watchers and didn’t sell. What a bummer!! I hate that.

In other blogging categories, I think I am going to make salted caramel brownies that I saw on the pioneerwoman.com  They sounded so very yummy. Just what we need to top off chicken and dumplings, don’t you think? If you make them, let me know!!

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    May 24, 2010 @ 15:32:57

    Oh my goodness! I want to come for dinner. I love chicken and dumplings and can’t make them! I was sort of let down by the ones at cracker barrel the other day since they didn’t have ONE PIECE OF CHICKEN in them!!!

    Reply

  2. Janna
    May 24, 2010 @ 16:16:44

    You come on over…Lots of chicken in this recipe!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

