changing

I don’t know if you know this, but in April I turned the big 4-0. It’s true. I really did. I was blessed to celebrate with friends and family near and far and had a great time. I like being 40. I have felt 40 for some time, so it was no biggie. I have noticed some changes, though.

1) I think I might need bifocals. I have to take my glasses off to read things like a menu or a book. Weird. I also haven’t been able to wear contacts well since I moved down to the bottom of the earth (okay, really it’s just the bottom of the US…) I don’t know if that is because it’s so humid or because of my eyes.

2) I have started needing a lot more sleep. I used to be one of those people who didn’t need much sleep. I stayed up late and was fine the next day. No more. I am having a hard time waking up after 9-10 hours of sleep. What’s up with that?

2 1/2) I am taking naps. Really wrong. The only time this has ever occurred is when I was on a long car trip or when I was pregnant. Since I am neither of those things, I can only assume it’s the age.

3) I don’t listen to the radio. I simply don’t want the noise in the car most of the time. I think this may change when I don’t have the three amigos in my ride all the time, but who knows? I love music. I love LOUD music. Weird.

4) (possibly the most important) Something changed in my mind. It was strange. It was like an epiphany. I am tired of being a chunky monkey. That’s my cute way of saying I’m tired of being fat. I hate it. I have hated it. I gained weight in the months we have been down here and I hated it. I had a moment of clarity one day and something snapped in my brain. Maybe it was early dementia, but I don’t care because I am losing weight and loving it. I am still cooking like before. Healthy, homemade foods, but I am losing weight. This makes me very happy. I am hoping for a moment of clarity where I suddenly have the urge to exercise, but I don’t know if that is asking too much.

In the midst of our craziness – not knowing where we are going to live next month, etc. It’s nice to have some things settled in my mind: I’m older and proud of it. I love my family. I love my friends. God is good to me – ALL THE TIME.

~Janna

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 19:23:43

    Janna,

    It IS different being the 4-0… however, I like to call it 30-10. 🙂
    The days of staying up past 11 are way gone. I cannot read the instructions on the medicine bottles. I STARTED exercising. Maybe, if this urge hits you, you can find a good boot camp. I call it torture camp. I have a love/hate relationship with it. I do it for my health, but it is good to actually finish SOMETHING.
    about the noise… I think that comes from being a mom of a tribe of boys. I CANT stand more sound. when I am alone, it is quiet. and I love that.
    love you, girl!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

