Hurricanes and other fun things

Greetings from the storm center!  It’s been nonstop hurricane coverage in our viewing area and we are hunkered down for our first hurricane. It is supposed to make landfall late today. We gassed up the vehicles plus the extra gas tank, we moved everything off our back patio, tied down and flipped over the trampoline, got sandbags, lowered the hurricane shutters and braved WalMart to buy “supplies.”

Let me tell you about the “supplies.” Monday was big batch baking day for me. I baked 4 loaves of sandwich bread, 4 loaves of cinnamon swirl bread, 4 pans of cinnamon rolls, 36 hot dog buns, 24 hamburger buns and 2 dozen dinner rolls. This was when I thought Alex was just a little tropical storm that would break up before much longer. I was a little bit wrong about that. When we discovered it was coming right at us, I planned…I knew I didn’t need any bread products! We are set for breads. We have enough to share. That’s always cool.  Anyhow, Mr Wonderful and I made a list of what we needed to round off the supplies in case we lost power for a few days. We debated the generator. We decided against it. We may regret that, I don’t know. Eventually, we really want to get one, but where the heck do you store that thing when you are not gearing up for a storm? Ugh. Do any of you own one? Where do you store it?

I grabbed the list and the boys and headed to Wal Mart. Along with everyone else in the Valley and, I am fairly certain, Northern Mexico. Wowza, it was crowded. It looked like looters had been in several of the aisles. There was NO canned chicken or tuna, no Ramen soup noodles, almost no Spaghetti-O products. (can you imagine living on Beefaroni for days?) and all the canned chili, except for Wolf Brand chili with no beans-gone, gone, gone. No worries for me, though.  Mr Wonderful ONLY likes Wolf, no beans. It makes him very happy. So I bought 4 cans, just for grins.  I bought our bottled water, paper towels (I know, gasp! I haven’t bought those in about 2 years), tp and a three pack of ketchup. If you have ever eaten a meal with our middle guy, you will understand the bulk ketchup…

I am going to tell you something. I looked at what others were buying. I knew most of them had been through Hurricane Dolly 2 years ago and I might learn something from what was in their carts. No way. Not thank you. Here was what was in those carts…Doritos, Coke, Gatorade, Budweiser, squishy sandwich bread, Chips Ahoy, and many many heads of iceberg lettuce (that one still has me guessing). Seriously, in an emergency, would your first thought be, “I need to gather emergency food and supplies for my family. We might lose power for several days. I had better lay in a supply of Doritos. That will keep us going.” I giggled and giggled. I love people watching. My Dad and I love to figure out the story of passerby. I had many stories to guess yesterday.

Today, we watch and wait. The fine folks at the Weather Channel say it will hit land late this afternoon/evening. It was coming at us, now it is a bit South (Mexico). Of course, anything more than 5 miles South of us IS Mexico. They evacuated the Island and the towns on the other side of the Island. We made cookies yesterday. (Those Chips Ahoy made me hungry for them) We have our water, our bread, our cashews, peanut butter (even though oldest is seriously allergic) almond butter, powdered milk (okay, I always have that, I use it for baking), flashlights, batteries, radio, etc. We are ready.

Carter volunteered to dig us a moat, but we decided to go with sandbags this time

Hurricane Shutters - Activate!

A little calm before the storm-before we sealed up the front door. I expect those palms are going to be bowing before long...

Watching and Waiting,

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren Calabrese
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 14:12:24

    Janna,

    You crack me up!
    Well, I pray you don’t lose your power!! I love that you bake all that good bread for your menfolk.
    I would have no idea how to deal with such disasters. You seem to be handling it well, and I will be praying for you and yours…

    Reply

  2. Kay Barnard
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 14:54:24

    I enjoyed reading about your adventures. You are now ready for your first hurricane. Enjoy the party!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

