adventures in homeschooling

Today was the first day of school. On my nifty new school and life planner, last Monday was supposed to be the first day of school. That didn’t happen…However, we determined that today would be just as fun as last Monday would have been. It wasn’t.

You might not know this about me, but I pretty much hate the early morning. Unless I am on vacation. Really…I am not making this up. I love to wake up early on vacation. I just can’t stand it at my own house. It’s really, really hard for me. Blech. Last night, I told Mr Darcy that I was setting the alarm clock so we could all start new routines. He laughed. He knows me. Get this – I woke up BEFORE the alarm went off. Wowza! I hopped out of bed and made it all up nice and purdy. Got myself dressed (all by myself – I’m a big girl now!) and headed downstairs in the quiet semi-darkness. Okay, it was 7:05 and not even remotely dark and I know many of you are saying “7:05 is totally not early” but it is to me, so there! I sat in my comfy, cozy, unfavorite fabric chair and started my Bible Study. It was great. I learned a lot. I was on a roll. Look out, Monday! I decided I was going to go ahead and read my three chapters in my One Year Bible as well. I know, I am a scholar. After reading about Jacob, Rachel and Leah, I decided the rest of the house could wake up – I was ready to receive them. I turned on the radio and made myself an apple cider vinegar water. Boys started stumbling down the stairs.

This is where the story takes a sharp detour. When youngest, precious, adorable, 4th grader comes downstairs, I ask if his room is clean. (The prerequisite for coming downstairs during the workweek) He nods, a little. He won’t make eye contact. I tell him I am going to check that room so he might want to take one last look at it before I get up there. I remind him of his time schedule. Breakfast is at 8:00 am SHARP. His eyebrows lower. His eyes sharpen in on me. He tells me he doesn’t need food. He informs me that if I am allowed to fast, he is allowed to fast – starting today. I walk upstairs, calmly. I open the door to his room and see the remnants of the land of tidy. I think about the Tusken Raiders camp in Episode 2. Unfortunately, I am Anakin. I am furious. I yelled. It was uncool. It was NOT the way I wanted to start the school year. Wasn’t my spiritual overachieving this morning supposed to ward off my evil twin?

Disgusted with myself, I head downstairs where my other two are standing. I am sure they are thinking this is going to be one heck of first day of school…

And it was.

We got past it. I apologized for losing my temper. I revisited the original issue – the right way. We wound up having a great day. We had new schedules, new curriculum and we had fun. The boys love their new math and spanish curriculum. We finished before 1pm. Housework was completed. A cake is cooling on the counter. The house is peaceful and all is well.

I’d like to blame my outburst on the fact I am really, really grieving. In fact, I went to bed crying (as I have for several weeks). But that’s not the real reason. I’d like to say that my youngest was at fault for pushing my housework and sassypants buttons, but that’s be a lie, too. I can’t even say it was righteous anger over reading what happened to Jacob when his yuck father in law gave him the wrong bride and he had to work and extra 7 years for his hearts’ desire. Yeah, we both know that’s not true! The reason is because I am still a work in progress. Still making mistakes along the way. That’s me. Every day, I have to purpose myself to be filled with peace – so that in the yuck times, it’s peace that flows out of my mouth and swirls in my mind. Guess I know what I’ll be praying for tomorrow, huh?

Tomorrow will be a better day. For starters, tonight Carter will be spending part of his night “chillaxing” time cleaning his room in preparation for the morning. We will have fun learning new things together and on our own. We will retain the new #2 pencils longer than one week. I will have a great quiet time. I WILL have more peace.

I love these boys. I love my life.

~Janna

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 15:46:05

    And just like that…… I feel normal. Love you! You know, I think my crew and I will take on you guys as part of our morning devotional for school. We’ll pray for your day and for peace!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:03:16

      Vanessa – sure do love you, my friend! Wish so badly you were closer and we could get these kiddos together! Taylor is playing basketball now – I really hope Bama needs him in a few years….

      Reply

  2. sheila
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 16:05:55

    Janna,
    I just love your brutal honesty with a hint of comedy, & the way that you communicate it in writing. Your 2nd day will go better than your first, I declare it! I just wish that my day would end at 1pm, but it’s more like after 2pm. The schedule we have is working so far, so I’m not going to change what’s working 🙂 Bless you!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:01:55

      Thanks, Sheila! I love to express myself. Really, I just like to talk, but it’s hard to find anyone who will listen to me around here!

      Reply

  3. Christina
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 18:10:59

    good blog. even if all you did was down a glass of apple cider vinegar water you would be a hero in my book. See you tomorrow.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:01:19

      Christina – I do love that stuff. I don’t even think about decorating Easter eggs anymore when I drink it….

      Reply

  4. Lyn
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:03:42

    For many years my mantra was “I WILL have peace in this house.” My oldest daughter, who is 28 and the mother of 2, still quotes me, or rather makes fun of me. hahaha

    Reply

    • Janna
      Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:00:44

      Lyn – this made me laugh! You always seemed so calm and collected to me!! Now I know it was the mantra…. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

