Star Track

When I was young, Saturday sometimes meant that Dad was “in charge.” I don’t know where my Mom went, but as I am now a Mama myself, I am pretty sure the destination didn’t matter…it was probably just good to be alone! In any case, here’s how those Saturdays went down:

Breakfast- a bowl of real oatmeal. No packets of maple and brown sugar when Dad was the chef. It was the sticky, sturdy stuff you could hang wallpaper with. With sugar. Two teaspoons exactly. That was a highlight. On the table was a small plate stacked with toasted Wonder Bread with a bit of margarine on it. I am pretty sure he started toasting that bread before he started the oatmeal, so it was always cold. It didn’t slow us down. Milk in our glasses rounded off the meal.

After breakfast, we adjourned to the tv room. This is where the day really got good. Dad’s plan of keeping tabs on my younger sister and me was to plunk us down in front of him in the room where he was going to be enjoying his Saturday. This meant we might get to catch a few minutes of American Bandstand before he got in there. How I loved the Bandstand!  The Soul Train never made a stop at our house on these Saturday mornings, even though we asked.  We got to the first “Dah, dah, dah, dah – c’mon aboard!” and that was it. We took our spots on the floor and waited for Dad to tell us to start flipping channels.

You have to remember in those days, we children were the remote control to the tv, so we sat on the floor to get to the set faster.  No one wanted to get up from the comfy couch to turn that knob.  You also didn’t question the parent who was commanding you. It would never pay off. It was better to just close your eyes and wait to hear, “stop!” and be surprised by what you got.

Now for the fun part…Boxing, Planet of the Apes, Star Track, and if we were lucky, Dr Who.  Yes, I know that’s not the correct spelling of the classic Gene Roddenberry show. That’s how my Dad pronounced it. So that’s what we called it. Star Track. Oh, how we loved the Star Track. Captain Kirk and his good time gang, getting into troubles throughout the galaxies. It was a.w.e.s.o.m.e. Mom never, ever let us watch Star Track. She is not a fan of the science fiction. I think she’s secretly scared of Klingons. I am sure if just one of members on the Enterprise wore a cowboy hat, she would have been sucked in, but sadly, Stetsons weren’t part of the uniform on any deck.  If either my sister or I tried to escape the tv room during our weekend marathon, we were given 5 minutes to use the restroom and hustle back. This is how Dad rolled on those Saturdays. I am pretty sure it was a win-win-win situation.

I still like Star Track. I really do. In fact, we are watching Star Trek Nemesis right now. Yes -as a family. I am thankful for the remote control (that is an actual remote) so we can switch over to Alvin and the Chipmunks when a less-than-desirable scene comes on. I love listening to my youngest tell us how they could have escaped faster if Captain Picard had just spit on the alien taking his blood with a giant needle. The alien would have dropped the needle on the floor, spilling the blood and Captain Picard could “sniggle” out of that cage. I love the way his mind works!

So, thanks Dad. Thanks for exposing me to the greats of Science Fiction when I was young. It’s still good stuff. The boxing is not my favorite, but I still like a good bowl of oatmeal. I’ll skip the Wonder Bread, if you don’t mind. You did a great job watching us on Saturdays.  Our husbands and 7 boys thank you, too. We are pretty much the coolest Moms there are because of your influence….

~Janna

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elaine
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:38:04

    I loved hearing you tell about Saturdays as a young girl. Brought back some memories of my Saturdays. My dad always bought donuts on Sat. and made sure he had a jelly one for me. 🙂 Never have found a jelly donut that tasted as good as those. I think it was all the love I felt that made them so good.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 11:44:59

      You made me so hungry for a donut that we had to drive 4 towns over to get to a donut shop and eat one! Isn’t it funny how our memories can shape even the tastes of our food? 🙂
      ~Janna

      Reply

  2. Lorinda
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 04:16:09

    Hi Janna, I’m sorry to hear of your the passing of your Mother-in-Love.I prayed that God would give your family comfort and rest.

    I popped over from the Heavenly Homemakers site…would you be willing to share your recipe for whole wheat pizza crust that you used with the breakfast pizza?
    Thanks

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 11:10:39

    You know how we love the Star Track! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

