Thankful Tree

Today, I totally ripped off a great idea by another blogger.  She and her family made a Thankful Tree.  I saw it.  I had to have one.  Before you could say, “Pilgrim” I was cutting leaves out of scrapbook paper and putting my Cricut to work on the letters.

 

Our thankful tree (and H finishing the dishes...)

 

 

I have a lot to be thankful for.  While this year has been difficult for us emotionally, we try to remind each other how lucky we are to have had Nana/Mom/Nancy in our lives.  We are better for it.  We took a few moments today to reflect on that and so many other things. I loved seeing what they came up with.

C wrote that he was thankful to have people who loved us enough to come down and see us.  Don’t feel bad if you haven’t loved us enough to visit.  I am sure he will forgive you eventually.  He was also thankful for Genesis 1:1.  He wrote that because his brother had already “used up” John 3:16.

H was thankful for a fridge full of food, vitamins and all the animals in the world. I asked him if this included mosquitoes and he said male mosquitoes were okay.  I do not agree but I figured our thankfulness reflection time was not the time to debate this. I also did not think it appropriate to mention that some of the animals of the world were filling up our fridge.

T was thankful for basketball, sports and an awesome youth pastor. I kept waiting for him to write, “the best mommy in the whole wide world.”  I am sure the only reason he didn’t was because he was out of leaves.  Oh, he also is thankful for Air Soft.  That’s a gun for those of you with girls or small children. It shoots pellets. Tiny little pellets that wind up in the house.

I had a great time refocusing myself on my thankful items and noticed a great change in my overall disposition during our crafty time. Maybe I should cut out extra leaves for myself to fill out whenever I am feeling snarky…

The best part just happened, though.  Mr Darcy was not at home when we did our tree but we left him some leaves to fill out after dinner.  T and I were at basketball practice so we ate later.  I looked at his leaves and grinned.  Happy.  Who knew a leaf could make me blush?

 

Beige leaves are my new favorite color

 

What’s that? You can’t really see it?  Here, let me help you…

 

Up close and personal

 

There’s not much more I can say after that.

If you have some extra construction paper hanging around, you ought to give this a try.  I know we will enjoy having this conversation starter in our dining room for the month. Maybe even longer – who knows?

~Janna

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 22:12:35

    This is a great idea!!! Btw one of my new favorite words is snarky!

    Reply

  2. Karen Taylor
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 23:03:09

    Love this, Janna!
    I laughed out loud at your comments about what’s in the fridge! Ha!
    Beige is a lovely color. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Christina
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 00:08:20

    Love the male mosquito answer – that is just SO him. And love P.T.’s answer – right on!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Karem
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 06:52:39

    Love this! And I’m stealing the idea- and the word snarky! LOL!!!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Nov 10, 2010 @ 20:47:44

      Karen –

      Steal away – I did! Feel free to use snarky. I will loan it to you so you can try it out. I still use “Rassum Frazzum” so I owe you..

      Love,
      Janna

      Reply

  5. Kay Barnard
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 09:04:28

    Love it!!! I am sooo thankful for your family. The Lord has blessed our family & our church family by bringing you’ll to Brownsville. We serve an awesome & faithful God!!! Love you’ll.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Nov 10, 2010 @ 20:50:18

      Kay –

      We are so very thankful for GSCC. It is written all over our Thankful Tree!! I have been so thankful for your encouragement and smile…

      Love you –

      Janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

