cooking things

Since we are so very close to Thanksgiving, my mind is constantly thinking, “food.”  Am I the only one?  I have a renewed interest in the Food Network and allrecipes.com.  We are jumping out of the box this year for Thanksgiving and NOT making a turkey.  We watched a Food Network show where they featured alternative Thanksgiving meals.  We are going for it.  A bacon-wrapped pork roast.  Ta-Da.

Today, I made up a delicious recipe. I thought and thought about what to call it and finally came up with:

Squash Soup

I know, I am quite clever, aren’t I?  Seriously, this rocked.  Here’s what was in it:

3 cups cooked butternut squash

2 cups cooked spaghetti squash

1 c 2% milk

2 c water

1/2 chopped onion

2 cloves chopped garlic

1 Tbls butter

2 tsp caldo de tomate (tomato bouillion)

2 tsp cumin

salt

I chopped the onion and garlic and sauteed them in the butter and some salt. When they were nice and tender, I added the rest. I then used my immersion blender to make it so smooth and creamy.  It made 8 servings (2 ladles-full each)  If by chance you care about Weight Watchers points, I used their online recipe builder and each serving is 2 points. Guess what I will be having for lunch all week?:-)  It had a great texture because although the butternut was pureed, the spaghetti squash still had some tiny little pieces every now and again. That was a lovely surprise to my mouth.

Because I am trying to rid our family of plastic storage containers, I have been saving glass jars from store-bought spaghetti sauce, applesauce, etc.  I filled up two jars with this soup and they are waiting for me in the fridge. Nice.

This week, I am also going to try a new recipe: pollo sabroso. It sounds yummy, right? You should hear me say it! I got the recipe from skinnytaste.com.

The one tradition we are sticking to this Thanksgiving is my homemade cream cheese bread for breakfast. It has white flour.  I tried to hide the bag in my shopping cart last night. I felt like a traitor.  It is a yummy, yummy breakfast treat, though. Plus, I only make it once a year. It makes enough for us to have it on Black Friday morning as well. I like that.

That’s all I’ve got for you. Not one thing more. I barely had this.

~janna

 

 

Leave a Reply

