Ta Da! (And other worthless sayings)

I don’t know if you know this or not, but I make my own laundry soap. It’s true, I am quite the granola.

I truly have a desire to have my own little tiny farm (without chickens because they scare me – childhood thing) and even have a backyard homesteading book on my Amazon wishlist.  When Mom and I made jam a while ago, it was one of the happiest days of my year. This is how I roll. I don’t know if it’s from the childhood of moving every 3 years (but always visiting my Grandparents on their farm in Montana), but I think it might be.

I have used an outhouse, pumped water from the well, stepped in many a cowpie, had my finger stuck in an old-fashioned washer-wringer, churned butter, milked cows, drank real warm milk, weeded gardens, butchered chickens (gizzards, anyone?) driven trucks before I had could reach the pedals, gone to the root cellar to get canned goods, been pecked nearly to death my chickens (see the connection now?) and much more. It’s in my blood, I guess.  I am glad it is.  This city girl has had some real country experiences on a fairly regular basis and it made me who I am today.

I like making granola. I like it all. Don’t tell Mr Wonderful, but I’d pack in the suburbs for a mini-farm in a heartbeat. He thinks that’s a really bad idea. He just doesn’t know how cool we’d feel.  But it isn’t happening right now. 🙂

Here’s what is: Our dryer broke the other day.  I started to get bummed – but then I saw opportunity. I mean, I already make our laundry soap! I hung that load on hangars with clothespins and dried them overnight. It worked. I don’t know why I was surprised.  I did it yesterday, too.  Today, I bumped it up a notch. I hung a clothesline. I mean, we live in the subtropics. It doesn’t freeze here. We get warm, breezy weather pretty much year round. I am so excited I can hardly stand it. I have a load in the washer right now and I am counting down the minutes until I can hang the clothes outside. Mr W thinks we need to call a repair person. I am asking him to wait. I am getting back to my roots. I could spin this and say how environmentally friendly we are.  That’s just a side effect.  I just want to get back to simple. I’m on my way.  Come join me.

~Janna

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 17:36:55

    yea for the clothes line! Are you scared of anyone stealing your clothes?

    Reply

    • Rhonda
      Dec 02, 2010 @ 09:08:24

      ooo! I forgot to mention on FB in addition to my chickens we’ve been doing the clothesline for about 7 years – my sheets are near frozen right now. And the wringer washer is on MY Christmas list! 😉

      Reply

      • Janna
        Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:04:11

        Rhonda –

        I cannot believe you want a wringer washer. Please tell me how you schedule to clothesline. I am having trouble with our busy schedule finding the time…

        ~Janna

    • Janna
      Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:02:44

      Christina –

      I am now.

      Thank you.

      ~Janna

      Reply

  2. Melanie
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 21:04:55

    You know, I share in your dreams of having a farm and a place to grow stuff and simplifying. In fact, Brad and I talk about it often. With a big farmhouse kitchen where I could grind wheat and bake bread until my heart is content. Most of my children do to, except for Alex now. He is worried about what moving to the country would do to his ever so busy social life now. 😉

    Reply

    • Janna
      Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:05:36

      Melanie –

      I can totally believe this of you!! The kitchen is my favorite part to dream about! I think Taylor would be fine with it as long as he had cell coverage…

      ~Janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

