Goooooooaaaaaaaalllllls…and other new pursuits

It is the first week of January. Yes, I have not blogged in a while. Not only did we take a roadtrip, but I had to bring my MacBook into the Apple Store for a repair. Is it just me, or does the idea of sending off your laptop -even by FedEx – very scary? Also, and probably more important, I just had to recharge myself. Had to.

So now I am recharged, my MacBook is shiny and crack-free and we are back at our casa. I don’t usually make New Years’ Resolutions, but I do make goals. Usually easily attainable goals. I like that. I am the type of person who writes a list just so she can cross things off of it. I need that positive reinforcement, people. That’s who I am.

So, here’s a partial list of those goals, in case you are interested: Yes, I realize many of these are food-related. It’s kinda important to us around here. 🙂

1. Make a sourdough starter and make yummy sourdough bread.

2. Garden more – this will be difficult as we are probably moving before the harvest time…any thoughts?

3. Sew more

4. Learn to knit

5. Learn how to make real REAL Mexican food.

6. Be a better friend.

7. Blog more.

8. Dream bigger – believe more

9. Become a better home barista

10. Learn how to make artisan bread

11. Shave my grocery budget.

There’s more, but they are secret!

Today, I started goal #1.  Last fall, I received an e-course on making sourdough.  It is from http://gnowfglins.com/ecourse/ I have high hopes!  I took some pictures so you can follow along with me (as well as document my own success).  I have been saving every glass jar we get around here. Our beautiful city does not recycle glass so I feel like I have to save ’em.  Of course, I save the canning jars. On a sidenote, our city doesn’t even have a street pickup recycling program, but we have two giant trashcans just for this purpose and my sweet hubby drives them downtown to the recycling center.  It is amazing how much we can recycle and NOT put in our trashcans. Anyhow, I had a great HEB marinara sauce jar that was perfect for this very thing. I had sanitized it in the dishwasher a month ago, but when I opened it up it was like walking in Macaroni Grill. It smelled delicious, but not what I wanted for sourdough. I finally figured out it was the lid that was trapping the smell. Oh well.  I rewashed the jar and put it to work.  Just water and flour. That’s it.

Before the big stir. Just water and flour. And a purple towel.

Blurry, but this is after the big stir.

This is the view from the top. Mmmm. Looks delicious, doesn't it?

And finally, with the cheesecloth covering it. Directions say to use plastic wrap, but also that it needs air to breathe. With the humidity down here, I didn't think plastic wrap was a good idea. It said you could use a cloth napkin. Time will tell on this one.

As for the rest of my goals, I have high hopes. I got some new tools for Christmas that will help me in these endeavors (along with other endeavors!) If you live down here and can help me with #5, please tell me.  🙂  If you can offer any tips for being a better home barista, I’d like those, too!

While I was with my Mom, we decided to make some more delicious jam. I made a mistake.  I was not paying attention to what was going on and I added everything all at once – the sugar, the fruit, the pectin. UGH. I boiled it a bit longer but it still didn’t set up.  So, I made 9 jars of what I hope will be delicious berry syrup.  Pancakes are on the menu for Saturday! I am sure my Mom was right when she said I would never do that again. This was after she told me she had done the same thing…once.  Isn’t it nice when someone tells you the truth and admits a mistake? I love transparency.

I hope your holidays were wonderful, filled with peace and lots of laughter.  Laughing is good. It’s hard to feel sorry for yourself when you are belly laughing.

~Janna

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 17:34:31

    I’m pretty sure you can’t complete #6. You’re already top notch on that one. 😉

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:03:43

    Jenn- you encourager!! I heart you dearly.

    Love,
    janna

    Reply

  3. lynn
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 13:17:39

    I think you have a perfect opportunity to learn Italian too, is that on you list? Had your jam this morning, good!! xoxoM

    Reply

    • Janna
      Jan 06, 2011 @ 22:32:54

      I learned how to say Sunday yesterday. In Spanish, it’s domingo. In Italian, domenica. (I don’t know the spelling) We are eating authentic Italian with the Italian neighbors on domenica. She is making the pasta. Homemade. I wish I could watch. I love listening to her talk! Thanks for saying something nice about the jam….

      Love you.

      Janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

