preparedness – grinding grains

I wanted to let you know about a sweet giveaway contest for a Wondermill Junior Grainmill. You can find out the details on this page.  I would really like to win this myself as I have been looking for a hand-crank mill to use if we lose power. It kinda defeats the purpose of having 150 pounds of wheat if I can’t use it when we lose electricity!!  I love, love, love my Nutrimill for everyday use, but this would be a great starter mill for someone, or backup mill for those of us who have an electric mill. Here are some details from the Urban Homemaker site:

Product Details The Wonder Junior is the highest quality most versatile hand mill available at an affordable price.

Features Include:

  • The hopper is large and holds over one quart or 4 cups
  • Wonder Junior is one-piece construction so the hopper will not come off during use.
  • Heavy-duty patented double clamp
  • Attaches to tables or counters up to 2 inches thick
  • Clamp will  never move or loosen up like other hand grain mills on the market t
  • Uses extra large lifetime lubricated bearings
  • Heavy duty base can be bolted to any table or counter, if desired.
  • Stone heads are one-third thicker than other hand grain mills will give a lifetime of use
  • High-quality stainless steel burr heads are for milling wet or oily grains,  seeds, or coffee.
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty

You can create super fine flour or coarse cracked grains for cereals.

By simply swapping the stone heads for the stainless steel burr heads you can make:

  • delicious peanut butter or other nut butters
  • grind flax or any other oily or wet grains
  • herbs and spices
  • soy beans
  • legumes
  • Fresh coffee.

Enter for yourself! Maybe one of my readers (or me) will win!

 

~Janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynn
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 18:38:19

    So How do I enter? My last grinder was purchased in the late 70’s….Very hard to grind with old arms, old stones,and not fine grind, very course, and makes great “hard tack” I learned how to do that when I came west on the wagon train!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 11:06:36

      Mom-
      Click on the link from Urban Homemakers. I can testify that your old mill does not work… I really think you would like a mill. You’d like the cornmeal and I wonder if bean flour might be something you tolerate well.

      love you-

      ~janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

