Have I mentioned that I’m perfect?

Hey…Have I mentioned that I am perfect? Yes…me.  Have I told you how utterly amazing my house looks at all hours of the day? Have I gently whispered how all of my children not only obey me 24/7 but keep their rooms so clean it looks like this months’ Pottery Barn catalog?  Oh, and did you read my post about how I am even-tempered and never overeat and how kind I am to everyone I meet?

I didn’t?

Hmmm….that’s because if I did, it would be a big chunky lie.  And that’s the truth. I would love to have the boys’ room look like remotely like anything in a Pottery Barn catalog, though!  And I sure wish I was kind all of the time. But I’m not. Right now, I am sitting in my favorite chair in my slippers with a pile of papers on one side of me and a pile of books and magazines on the other. And that’s what’s normal.

So why am I telling you this?

Well, you may or may not have noticed that I haven’t written anything on this blog in a while. Here’s what happened. In my zeal for sharing (and I do have zeal) and learning and getting excited about people taking charge and not feeling helpless in their own homes, I wrote. And I wrote some more. And many of you wrote me or told me in person that you liked what I wrote and even more of you subscribed to my blog. Some of you I don’t even know in real life.  And then, as my Grandmother used to say…

I got the big head.

I started thinking about “me” a lot. And in my mind, I was getting cooler and cooler. I mean, who wouldn’t want to know what’s in my mind? I started thinking about where this little blog could go instead of enjoying it where it was. I got a little full of myself. When I realized this. I quit. I had to. I really did.

Maybe you are sitting at home or at work or on an airplane going to Paris and reading this and saying to yourself, “Yeah, I never thought she was all that.”  And you’d be right.  I’m not.  But I will tell you something: I serve the One who IS ALL THAT. Anything good in me or good that I might do is because of Him. Period.   By His mercy I sit here at my house, in my favorite chair with beautiful children making mess and noise all around me. Because of His Great Love can I ever imagine to have the grace to face the challenges that each day brings. He saved me. He rescued me. Even when I turned from Him, He never turned from me.

I’m not perfect, but I sure am blessed.

So, tonight I type while my freezer poppy seed chicken bakes in the oven with no door handle.  I look to my left and see a new recipe for a freezer-friendly meal I want to try. I plan the details for the final lifegroup meal I will make tomorrow night. I think of each of you who might read this. Do you know you don’t have to perfect? Do you know that you are loved? I hope so.

I’ve missed you, adventures in Jannaland….

xoxo

~janna

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 23:10:58

    I got giddy when I saw you had a new blog post! I loved what you were doing with your blog and I hope you return to it. If not then I will be okay (I suppose) but only because I get to see you and talk to you in person and I feel very lucky for that! 🙂

    Reply

    • Janna
      May 05, 2011 @ 20:22:49

      Christina –

      You are the one who got me started in the first place…One of your first questions to me was, “do you blog?”

      Love you. So excited for the adventure you are on right now!

      ~janna

      Reply

  2. Karem
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 06:11:44

    Wow! You are not perfect, but you are wonderful! Thank you for Sharing your journey, your ups and downs. You are a great blessing.

    Reply

  3. Gerda
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 06:18:02

    So glad Jesus still loves us even when we feel SO imperfect. Thanks for sharing and being you.

    Reply

  4. Rhonda
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 14:56:12

    I’ll drive down for that poppy seed chicken…

    Reply

    • Janna
      May 05, 2011 @ 20:20:03

      Rhonda,

      I’ll put one together and pop it in the oven as soon as you give the word! I miss our lunches.

      ~janna

      Reply

  5. Elaine
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:03:55

    Thanks for your honesty!
    I am glad you are back.!!!!

    Reply

  6. Becca
    May 07, 2011 @ 22:56:33

    Loved this entry very encouraging 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

