Where have I gone?

This morning, I received a note from a wonderful friend. “Your last blog was in May, are you ever going to write again?”  I really have been thinking about it. It’s time, I think, to let you know where I am in life and in actual location.

 

In August, we packed up everything we owned and moved up to North Texas.  It was hard in so many ways. Most of the ways I can’t even share with you here. We miss our good friends from “down south” and I’ve heard from each of the boys that they miss the beach. It was a hard move. Really, really hard.  We are living with my sweet parents right now until things get back on track for us. Pray for them! I haven’t been doing a lot of baking or cooking or anything but trying to survive.

After we moved, we had about two weeks before we had a trauma of sorts. Mr Darcy wound up in the hospital with ITP. I don’t feel like typing all those words so let me just tell you it’s a blood disorder where the platelets start attacking each other for no real reason. Most of us are walking around with somewhere between 200,000 and 400,000 of those sneaky little platelets on any given day.  The day he ended up in the hospital, he had 5,000. Ugh. He had a special treatment that should have sent his numbers soaring, but instead they went even lower. 2,000.  At that point, I lost it.

I had not cried since the day before we drove out of South Texas. Not one tear. I couldn’t. I couldn’t even access my emotions. I had nothing. I really, really wanted and needed to have a sniffle or two but just couldn’t.  Well, on that second day, honey…Floodgates opened.

I think I cried for hours.

Onward to more recent times. I have stopped crying and Mr Darcy has lots and lots of platelets. He just had an appointment with the oncologist and he gets to start tapering off of the massive amounts of steroids he’s been on there. THAT’S an answer to prayer!  If you have ever been on steroids or know someone who has – they probably weren’t on the ginormous amount he’s been on and they were still wackadoodle.  Enough said 🙂

So, since I’ve been here, I have gained weight, horribly colored my hair (that’s a crazy story in itself) and started school for the boys without most of our stuff.  Here’s what I’ve learned.

1.  I really, really like my stuff

2. I really, really miss my stuff

3. I am really, really thankful for my laptop

4. Life is fragile

5. I love cooking and baking and homemaking and entertaining and I miss it terribly

6. I really, really miss my stuff

7. I discovered that I like watching birds in the backyard  (this is random, but true)

 

Because I am trying to have hope for our future, I read a blog that I haven’t read in a while. Relectant Entertainer. Love her. Love that book.  Anyhow, today she is having a giveaway for a KitchenAid mixer. You should try and win one. Maybe one of us will win it and go on to make all sorts of amazing foods and we can discuss it and it will be so lovely. If you want to check it out, go to:

http://reluctantentertainer.com/2011/09/kitchen-aid-stand-mixer-giveaway-via-usa-today-your-life/

Gorgeous!

I will say that I have been watching the Pioneer Woman on Food Network and have been trying many of  the things she makes on there. Her cookbook is one of the three cookbooks I didn’t pack in storage. Comfort Food. If you win the KitchenAid mixer, maybe you could make those mashed potatoes. They will rock your world. No jokes. And those French Breakfast Puffs are out of this world. Maybe you can see now why I have gained weight, huh?

I think that’s all I have time for on this day.  I have missed you.

~Janna

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela Guinn
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 13:27:03

    Janna,

    So sorry I can totally relate, will be praying for you all more than usual.

    Love and blessings,

    Pamela

    Reply

  2. Christina
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 17:02:33

    Reading this was like medicine to my wound while in some ways it makes me sadder. I was grocery shopping today and had this thought that when I let myself think about how I miss you I kind of feel like I’m grieving.

    So glad P.T. is better.

    Reply

    • Janna
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:14:19

      Christina,
      I also feel that grieving feeling. It’s so strange when it just pops up out of nowhere. I miss you, terribly. We drive past the sign for Justin tonight and I found myself thinking how I wish we could drive to see you…
      love,
      janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

