My friend, Craig

Since we have lived here, I have really appreciated my friend, Craig.  Perhaps you know him, too? I just love his list….We were able to give our moving boxes to a sweet single mom who really needed them via Craig. I also found BRAND NEW roman shades for our french doors (in exactly the right size, can you believe it?) on Craigslist for 9 dollars each. Here’s the best one, though: Thursday, I was showing Mr Darcy some pictures of area rugs that I had bookmarked. I love the wood floors, but our family room is like walking on the frozen tundra (and yes, I know what that feels like – I lived in Alaska.) Anyhow, I was telling him how much  I luh-huved braided rugs. They make me happy. My Mom has had one for as long as I can remember (she doesn’t use it now, just stores it) and ever since we lived in Raleigh, NC, I just have a thing for colonial decor. I can’t explain it, but I love it. I think it must have something to do with my love of symmetry. In any case, I love braided rugs. Mr Darcy thinks they were only popular in the 70’s. Maybe they were, but I don’t care. I still love ’em. So, we’re looking at area rugs and talking about what we like and what we want for this house and then we went to bed. Friday night, I checked in with Craig and his list before heading upstairs to read in bed. Would you believe I see a little something under the “free” section? It’s a braided rug. I email and they still have it as well as a solid maple twin head/foot board set. For 5 dollars. Uh huh.

We load up into the truck and drive about 15 minutes to get the free rug (which, it turns out is WOOL) and the bed stuff. We get home and roll it out and I get the vacuum on it.  After vacuuming for a loonnnnggg time. we take a good look at it. Would you believe it has two green rows in it? Do you know who has green furniture? That’s right!  Now, I’ll give you a peek:

Check out that rug....

So I am loving it. Maybe it has a bit of a retro feel, but I am totally working with it… I priced a similar sized one (10×12) at Cabela’s and it was $1000.00!  I am feeling really great about this!  And, my feet don’t feel like they are sitting on an igloo, which is a bonus.

On to cooking…Friday night, we plugged in our trusty upright freezer so it could be ready for a Sam’s Club run on Saturday. We haven’t used it since we left Bville. I went to Sam’s on Saturday as planned and came home ready to start re-packaging what I had purchased. For instance, I bought the world’s largest bag of pepperoni and Carter helped me re-package it into 1 cup bags, using my seal-a-meal. I think we now have something like 18 bags of pepperoni. I did four kinds of cheese, all-beef hot dogs and more before getting too tired to continue. Sunday afternoon, I went to the basement to get a package of cheese out, and nothing was frozen. All cold, but not frozen. Oh no! I moved the meatballs to the kitchen freezer/fridge and started breathing quickly in a panic. The freezer runs, but it just won’t freeze. We are currently checking in with Craig to see if he knows of any freezers before we have to go to Lowe’s or something. Ugh. Thankfully, I was too pooped to cut up the 10.5 pound pork loin into chops or divide out the ground beef. They are currently hanging out in our fridge. Neato.

Since I can’t do those meaty things, I made up a batch of whole wheat pancake mix – using a new recipe I received from The Urban Homemaker. You can find it here. I had purchased some Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Powder online just for this kind of thing, so I added 16-17 teaspoons of it to the mix as well. It sure smells great and we can’t wait to give it a whirl.  It made approx 21.5 cups of mix. Here’s how I packaged it:

I can already taste the mixed berry jam I'll put on them!

That’s about it from Illinois. I wait to make lasagnas and poppy seed chicken until we get the freezer thing worked out.  I almost forgot to tell you about the 100% natural, all organic whole chickens I got on sale….for 3 dollars each. I bought all 5 that Kroger had. They are Amish something or other. I was so excited. I am going to make the poppy seed chicken, enchiladas and just have cooked chicken for salad, quesadillas, etc. I’ll also be able to have my chicken broth in the freezer made from cooking those cluckers for 24 hours. (Well, really it’s the bones and all but you get the drift) I read a great article from Laura over at Heavenly Homemakers about how to stretch a chicken. You can read it here.

What’s cooking at your house?

~Janna

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:42:30

    Good to see you blogging!

    We are cooking the Poppy Seed Chicken for Matt’s birthday. His standing request each year. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 18:51:50

    Rhonda!!

    Thanks so much for reading!

    I love that Poppy Seed…Tell Matt Happy Birthday from all of us. We miss you guys. Send pictures…I NEED to see how your babies have grown. And start planning a vacation to Illinois. You’d love it.

    xoxo
    janna

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Things to do on a Monday « Adventures In Janna Land

Leave a Reply

