Sing me to sleep, I’m tired and I want to go to bed.

Last night, I couldn’t sleep. I was in bed thinking about how I could build a table out of used pallets. I have seen it done. I am pretty sure I could get the pallets. Putting those two things together into something I would want to showcase in my home is another story. These are the things that keep me awake at night. That and wondering where my sterno cans are (yes, I know we weren’t supposed to pack those-Danger, Will Robinson). Also, where are the boys’ outside tennis shoes? And where are my pink slippers?  These are things that have not surfaced since we moved. The slippers really disturb me.

On to more exciting things.

Last night, I finished off the second batch of chicken stock. I realized that on a previous post, I referred to it as broth. This was incorrect and I apologize for steering you in the wrong direction. Mea Culpa. Broth is not made with bones whereas stock is. That said, vegetable stock is made without bones so I guess it really doesn’t matter. But I made stock. The second batch was lighter in color but just as delightful. I didn’t get quite as much, but I didn’t add nearly as much water. I got 7 cups.  I am about to put it in the freezer. Happy. I took a picture of the “rest” of the carcass but it’s so gross, I don’t want to post it. It’s gross. Did I already say that?

Today, I am going to make up one batch of this.  We love pudding and right now I am reading the ingredients on a box of chocolate pudding I bought to make a certain cake that my sweet Mother In Love always made…chocolate chip cake. It’s delicious. Anyhow, I never knew there was FOOD COLORING in the chocolate pudding. I have three boys who are quite sensitive to food coloring and I can’t believe I let this slide. 13 ingredients in the chocolate pudding box. So, I am going to make the vanilla pudding mix she posted and see how we like it. I also found recipes here that are already large quantity-ready that I may try. If we like it, I am making it up in bulk. I sure hope we like it.

Completely unrelated, I have now finished my second Zumba class at the gym. And as a bonus, I have not passed out or wet my pants while jumping up and down to the rhythm of the beat. I am very glad there are not mirrors in the front of the class because I am sure it would not be encouraging to see myself trying to shake my hips at the same time I am trying to salsa and walk forward with my hands doing the flamenco moves. And yet,  no one has asked me where I get my moves from…I have a great time, though. I might even work up the courage to try another kind of class.

That’s it. No big cooking over here today. We haven’t had bread in almost three weeks (or sugar) and I am planning a big bake-a-thon on Sunday. Cinnamon rolls, toast, maybe even my Gramma’s danishes.

Before I forget, here’s the recipe for the PoppySeed Chicken:

3 cups cooked rice

1 cooked chicken, deboned and chopped (or 5-6 breasts if you only like white meat)

1 can cream of mushroom soup (or you can make your own cream of – so much better)

1 cup sour cream

2 T Poppy Seeds

salt and pepper

optional 1 cup toasted almonds

Topping: 1 stick butter and 1 roll Ritz crackers, crushed (I have been known to double this:-))

Put the cooked rice in the bottom of your casserole dish. Isn’t casserole a fun word? It’s even more fun if you say it in your best Paula Deen voice. Like this video. Now I want to try that casserole. Cheese. Casserole. Creamy. Yum. Back to work, Janna.

Mix the chicken, soup, sour cream, poppy seeds, almonds (if you used them) and salt and pepper to taste. I put about  1-2 teaspoons of pepper and 1 tablespoon of salt. Spread that goodness all over your rice. Now, mix the melted butter and the crushed Ritz and sprinkle that deliciousness all over the top. At this point, you could pop that in the oven for 35 minutes at 350 until bubbly on the sides and crisp on top. However, if you want to make this a freeze ahead meal, add about 1 cup of chicken broth.stock to the rice before spreading the creamy chicken goodness over the top then put aluminum foil over it all and label. Bake it for 45 minutes-one hour or until bubbly on the sides and crisp on top. I have made this many times with fake chicken for my vegetarian peeps and they said it was yummy. I also make this every year that I make a big turkey and freeze it. It’s super easy to make several at one time. It’s on my short list of meals I take to people when they have a baby or are getting out of the hospital, etc. Even Mr Darcy, who is NOT the biggest fan of the casserole (understatement of the year) loves it. It’s great reheated.

Have a great weekend and look for a fun giveaway I’m having next week!

~Janna

ps.  two points for you if you get the reference in my title….:-)

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 19:12:03

    any post that starts with a little Morrissey makes me feel happy! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Janna
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 14:18:07

    Winner, winner…fake chicken dinner….
    🙂

    janna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

