Things to do on a Monday

On Mondays, Mr Darcy has the day off. It’s awesome. Saturday nights and Sunday mornings are workdays for the pastors so Mondays are the leisure days. We were certainly leisurely today. Leisure is such a fun word to say. Leisure. Laysure. Lehsure. However you pronounce it, it’s fun.

We started our day out by trying out the new pancake mix I made up. I made 2 batches and we had about 7 pancakes left over. They were very fluffy. I am sure that if we were not just coming off of not eating bread for 21 days, we could have consumed more. Part of me hopes we stick with consuming less but…

After breakfast, the boys did their schoolwork and Mr Darcy worked on whatever he works on when I don’t bother him. I am sure he was productive. I enjoyed some Pinterest time and looked for my ModPodge, which is probably in the same missing box as my pink slippers, the sterno cans and more I haven’t discovered yet. I am less anxious about the slippers as my Mommy sent me a new pair of brown wool slippers in the mail – along with one of her handmade, awesome quilts. It’s so cool. She’s cool.

Schoolwork completed and lunch eaten, we were off to the zoo. It’s free until the 12th of February so we decided to check it out. It’s lovely and we had a good time, but we walked the entire thing in an hour. And that was spending quality time with an outdoor exhibit of monkeys who were attacking some African pigs. When you have all boys, this is awesome.

you can get an idea of the magnitude of our zoo by the massive (ha) entry building.

Notice there is no snow on the ground. Notice also the blue, blue skies. Then notice that everyone only has on sweatshirts. That’s because it’s in the low 50’s. Ugh. I miss my snow. I am thankful, however, that we had a warmer day to visit the zoo. My middle guy wants to be a zoology major in college (he has stuck with this for many years) so it’s like visiting with the Animal Planet Live…Love him. I would also like you to look back at the picture and notice how tall my oldest has gotten. Mr Darcy is 6 foot 8, may I remind you…seriously, this kid just keeps growing and he just turned 14 this month. Wowza. Have I mentioned how hungry they all are all the time? 🙂

Okay, so it’s lasagne for dinner tonight with green salad and herbed rolls I made at the beginning at the month and had in the freezer. And cake. Chocolate Chip Cake. Yum.

Tomorrow is my big giveaway….seriously. I am so excited!  Tell your friends, your neighbors and your co-workers. Wahoo!!

~janna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 23:26:40

    Very proud of Taylor for growing! I’m begging Levi to give me a few more inches quickly. Each time one of his taller friends is over I’m ticked, really ticked. How can anyone have a right to be taller than him?! His mother is 6’2″ for goodness sakes!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 07:52:32

      Rhonda –
      No way! I can’t imagine anyone being taller than Levi!! Carter’s been having growing pains at night, which makes me sad for him, because it hurts, but secretly happy because I want him to get a bit of height. There’s a little something he’ll probably need counseling for, huh?

      ~janna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

