WINNER!!!

After a very technical drawing involving strips of paper, a ball canning jar and my teenage son, we have drawn the first winner for the $10.00 Peet’s Coffee GC.

And the winner is….

Debbie who said, “my mom would make a “filipino” omelet with lots of onions, garlic, potatoes, ham, and bell peppers. We’d eat it with rice and fresh diced tomatoes. It was so satisfying!”

Debbie, that sounds so yummy!  Let’s all give her a round of applause, okay? 🙂

I loved hearing what you all loved for breakfast when you were young. What fun!

This won’t be our first giveaway so stay tuned for more….

In other news: today I am making mashed potatoes and cakes for a dinner party we are having at our house tomorrow night. It’s our first party in Illinois and I am so excited. Because I needed to be working in the kitchen and cleaning house, I decided to paint a wooden bench that sits in our front entry. That makes total sense, right? 🙂  It’s now a pretty grey. It’s the very first thing our guests will see when they arrive and I wanted it to look “purty.” That’s important, you know! You’ll be happy to know that I have already made the mashed potatoes (Pioneer Woman) and have the Texas Sheet Cake in the oven. I am about to start the Blonde Texas Sheet Cake in a few moments. Did you know that you can make mashed potatoes ahead of time and put them in your crockpot? It’s true. I have been doing it for several years – especially on Thanksgiving. It’s a real time-saver and frees up my stovetop for the two cast-iron skillets that will be frying chicken fried steaks (and later, cream gravy). I’ll be making up my biscuits tomorrow. I was going to make it today and freeze one batch as an experiment for later, but we went to the library this morning and it took longer than I thought. Not such a bad thing!

We’ll have a houseful of people – pretty much all strangers to me and Mr Darcy only works with the spouses. I am so excited.  I love to have a houseful of people. I love that feeling of puttering in the kitchen when they are about to arrive. I love hearing laughter in my house. I love a big “amen” at the end of the dinner prayer. We are so thankful for new friendships.

After dinner, I get to use  my coffee bar! I love my Keurig coffee maker because everyone gets to choose what they’d like. Hot tea, cocoa, coffee…and I have a milk frother and coffee syrups to go with it. The frother is so much fun. Just pour the milk in, turn it on and in a minute – hot, frothy milk to go in the drink!

I wish you were coming for coffee!

Yes, that’s the Texas Sheet Cake Cooling on the counter. Doesn’t it look yummy? 🙂

~Janna

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 21:57:17

    yippee!!! I love your blog and being the winner of your first drawing just makes life that much more fun! Thanks! Looking forward to reading and learning more….

    Reply

  2. Syble Hanson
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 03:13:15

    Janna, This is your cousin, Syble, in Atlanta! I have a recipe for a Texas Sheet cake. What did you cook yours in? Mine looks thicker than yours. Please send me your recipe so I can compare. Thanks, Love you much!

    Reply

    • Janna
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 20:37:47

      Syble,
      You know I know who you are!! 🙂 After trying several recipes, I found that I really like the Pioneer Woman recipe. It’s always yummy and since I have her cookbook AND she’s online, I don’t lose the recipe! http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/the_best_chocol/ The only difference is that I add a smidge (I think 1 teaspoon) of cinnamon to mine.

      Love you –
      Janna

      Reply

      • Syble Hanson
        Feb 07, 2012 @ 02:19:21

        Janna, Thanks for sending me the recipe. I’m sorry for the way I addressed the email to you. I know you know who I am. I was thinking you have so many people sending you comments that I needed to tell you it was me. I admire you for being such a people person. I’m not that out going. I wish I was!!! You should write a book. I love reading about your goings on. We moved to California in 1978 with Brooks job. His company transferred him from the Atlanta plant to open one in Los Angeles. We were like you all, we only knew each other. It was hard at first but a wonderful experience for the 3 of us. It was great for our marriage! I really enjoyed moving around. I also liked to travel. My Mother did not like it at all. I had to have Tommy, Sr talk to her! She was so upset about our move! You seem to be enjoying the new place. I am proud for you all. Love you. Syble

      • Janna
        Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:09:44

        Syble –

        Don’t apologize!! I LOVE YOU! And I think you are a people person, for sure! 🙂

        While I miss our family in Texas (and NC), we are having a great time here and I am thankful. I agree that it’s great for our marriage. We have to depend on each other more and I like that.

        Thank you for encouraging me and all of us. Come up and see us!!

        love,
        janna

Leave a Reply

